📧 [email protected] 📞 435-219-5120 (TTY: 711) Search 🌐 EnglishEspañol

Heart & Blood Pressure

Inpefa Assistance Programs & Grants in Utah

Assistance information last verified: August 2026

Not straightforwardly. Lexicon's copay program excludes Medicare by name, and the company says only that uninsured patients "may" get help without publishing any criteria for it. Both charitable funds that list Inpefa were closed. For a Medicare beneficiary the practical routes here are Extra Help, the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan, and a conversation about the negotiated-price alternatives in the same class. Financial assistance may be available through charitable foundations, manufacturer programs, Medicare's Extra Help program, or other assistance resources. Availability and eligibility change frequently — the information on this page was verified in August 2026.

How to Apply for Inpefa Assistance Why Inpefa sits on the heart funds rather than the diabetes fund, what Lexicon does and does not publish about patient assistance, and how Inpefa compares with the negotiated-price heart-failure medicines.

Can I get help paying for Inpefa?

Not straightforwardly. Lexicon's copay program excludes Medicare by name, and the company says only that uninsured patients "may" get help without publishing any criteria for it. Both charitable funds that list Inpefa were closed. For a Medicare beneficiary the practical routes here are Extra Help, the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan, and a conversation about the negotiated-price alternatives in the same class.

  • INPEFA Together Copay Program: "as little as $10" per 30-day prescription, limited to 13 uses a year — but "Offer not valid for prescriptions reimbursed under Medicare, Medicare Advantage, Medigap, Medicaid, VA, DoD, or TRICARE."
  • Patient assistance: Lexicon states "If you don't have insurance or your insurance doesn't cover INPEFA, you may still get help paying for INPEFA" and publishes no income limits, no program name and no criteria. Recorded as unverified — call 1-855-246-7332 and ask.
  • No generic: DailyMed labels a single sotagliflozin product.
  • Not a Medicare-negotiated drug — while Entresto, Farxiga and Jardiance, all used in heart failure, have had negotiated prices in effect since January 1, 2026.
  • Charitable grants: TotalAssist lists Inpefa on its Heart failure fund ($1,000 guaranteed / $2,500 maximum) AND its Stroke fund ($1,000 / $1,500) — both closed. HealthWell's heart funds were closed. Good Days has no cardiovascular fund.
  • Note what Inpefa is NOT on: TotalAssist's Type 2 diabetes fund does not list it, even though Inpefa is an SGLT2 inhibitor. Apply to the heart funds, not the diabetes one.

1 of the 5 programs we checked for Inpefa was accepting applications when verified in August 2026.

About Inpefa (sotagliflozin)

Inpefa is a once-daily tablet taken to reduce the risk of cardiovascular death and heart-failure hospitalisation. It belongs to the same SGLT2 family as Farxiga and Jardiance, but it is licensed as a heart medicine rather than a blood-sugar one — a distinction that decides which charitable funds you can apply to, and one that this page gets right because the funds themselves do.

Approved uses

  • Reducing the risk of cardiovascular death, hospitalisation for heart failure and urgent heart-failure visits in adults with heart failure
  • The same risk reduction in adults with type 2 diabetes, chronic kidney disease and other cardiovascular risk factors

Manufacturer: Lexicon Pharmaceuticals

Why Inpefa can be expensive on Medicare

Inpefa is a brand-only tablet with no generic — DailyMed lists a single labelled sotagliflozin product — taken indefinitely once started. It also comes from a small manufacturer with one marketed product, which shapes the help available: Lexicon publishes a copay card with a firm figure but no income-tested free-drug program with published criteria, so there is less of a safety net behind the card than there would be with a large manufacturer.

Medicare coverage context

Inpefa is a tablet you take yourself, so Medicare covers it under Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan, usually on a brand tier. It is not a Medicare-negotiated drug: CMS's selected-drug and Maximum Fair Price file has no Inpefa or sotagliflozin row for 2026, 2027 or 2028. That is worth knowing in context, because three other heart-failure medicines were selected in the first negotiation cycle and have had negotiated prices in effect since January 1, 2026 — Entresto, Farxiga and Jardiance. If you are on Inpefa and cost is the obstacle, the comparison with those three is a legitimate conversation to have with your cardiologist. Part D out-of-pocket costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026, Extra Help lowers cost-sharing for people with limited income and resources, and the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan can spread what you owe across the year.

Inpefa assistance options at a glance

Every program we checked, what kind of help it is, whether people with Medicare can use it, and its status when we verified it. A medication being listed by a program is not the same as the program accepting applications.

About the income limits below: Income limits can differ between assistance programs even when both describe their eligibility as the same percentage of the federal poverty level. The dollar limits shown here come from each program's own published income table, and each program decides which year's poverty guidelines that table is built from and when it takes effect. Treat the figures as belonging to the program they are listed under — they are not interchangeable, and only the program can tell you which table it is applying to your application today.

Inpefa assistance programs compared
ProgramType of helpPeople with MedicareStatus (August 2026)
INPEFA Together Copay Program Commercial copay / savings card not eligible Accepting applications
Lexicon patient assistance — terms not published Manufacturer patient assistance not stated Check current availability
TotalAssist — Heart failure and Stroke funds Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
HealthWell Foundation — heart funds all closed Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
Good Days — no applicable fund Charitable grant not stated No program found
Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy) Government program may apply Accepting applications

Manufacturer programs from Lexicon Pharmaceuticals

A patient assistance program (free or low-cost drug by income) is not the same as a copay card (a commercial discount that usually excludes Medicare). Both are listed so you can see which one applies to you.

Commercial copay / savings card

INPEFA Together Copay Program

Lexicon Pharmaceuticals

Accepting applications Medicare: not eligible

Status: Active for commercially insured patients on August 26, 2026: eligible patients pay "as little as $10" per 30-day prescription, limited to 13 uses for 30-day supplies per person. Lexicon also offers a free 30-day supply voucher to start treatment, with automatic enrolment into the copay program afterwards for eligible commercially insured patients.

A commercial copay offer with a clear headline figure. Recorded so Medicare readers can rule it out immediately — and so anyone moving from commercial insurance onto Medicare knows that a $10 Inpefa copay does not survive the transition.

If you have Medicare: Lexicon's exclusion is unusually broad and worth reading in full: "Offer not valid for prescriptions reimbursed under Medicare, Medicare Advantage, Medigap, Medicaid, VA, DoD, or TRICARE." Note that Medigap appears in that list, which some manufacturers omit. If you have any of those, this program is closed to you regardless of how your prescription is processed.

What it can cover: Part of the commercial copay or coinsurance for Inpefa, up to 13 fills a year. Not applicable to Medicare cost-sharing.

Who may qualify

  • Commercial (private or employer-sponsored) prescription insurance
  • Not reimbursed under Medicare, Medicare Advantage, Medigap, Medicaid, VA, DoD or TRICARE
  • Limited to 13 uses for 30-day supplies per person

How to apply

Commercially insured patients enrol through INPEFA Together or call 1-855-2-INPEFA (1-855-246-7332), Monday–Friday 8am–8pm ET. Medicare beneficiaries should ask the same line about patient assistance instead.

Manufacturer patient assistance

Lexicon patient assistance — terms not published

Lexicon Pharmaceuticals

Check current availability Medicare: not stated

Status: Lexicon states on the INPEFA Together financial-support page that "If you don't have insurance or your insurance doesn't cover INPEFA, you may still get help paying for INPEFA" — but publishes no program name, no income limits, no insurance criteria and no application route for it. Support specialists must be contacted directly. This is recorded as unverified rather than as an absence, because Lexicon does assert that help exists.

A genuine "we could not establish this". Lexicon is a small company with one marketed product, and it does not run the kind of documented charitable foundation that GSK, Lilly or Genentech do. Something may exist; what it is, who runs it and who qualifies are all unpublished.

If you have Medicare: No Medicare rule is published for whatever assistance sits behind that sentence, and this project does not infer one from other manufacturers. The wording "your insurance doesn't cover INPEFA" is the phrase to test on the call: a Medicare beneficiary whose Part D plan excludes Inpefa, or places it behind a prior authorisation that has been denied, arguably fits that description. Ask three things: whether Medicare beneficiaries may apply, what the income limit is, and whether a plan denial counts as "doesn't cover".

Who may qualify

  • Lexicon's only published wording: no insurance, or insurance that does not cover Inpefa
  • Income limits, program name and application route: NOT PUBLISHED
  • Confirm directly before applying, and before ruling yourself out

How to apply

Call INPEFA Together on 1-855-2-INPEFA (1-855-246-7332), Monday–Friday 8am–8pm ET, and ask specifically about patient assistance rather than the copay program — they are different things and the phone tree may not distinguish them.

Charitable grants for Inpefa

Inpefa's charitable picture is better than most heart medications on this site in one respect and shut in another. TotalAssist lists it on two funds rather than one — Heart failure, paying $1,000 guaranteed up to $2,500, and Stroke, paying $1,000 up to $1,500 — but both were closed on August 26, 2026. HealthWell's Chronic Heart Failure and Cardiomyopathy funds, both Medicare Access funds, were closed too, and Good Days runs no cardiovascular fund. One practical warning: do not apply to the Type 2 diabetes fund. Inpefa is an SGLT2 inhibitor and it is natural to look there, but TotalAssist's diabetes approved-medication list does not include it — the funds follow the label indication, and Inpefa's is cardiovascular. Because Lexicon's copay program excludes Medicare and its patient assistance is unpublished, these alerts and the Medicare-side tools carry more weight here than usual.

Charitable grant

TotalAssist — Heart failure and Stroke funds

Patient Advocate Foundation · Heart failure (HF) · Stroke

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: Both funds that list Inpefa were closed to new applicants on August 26, 2026. The awards differ: the Heart failure fund pays $1,000 guaranteed up to $2,500, and the Stroke fund $1,000 guaranteed up to $1,500.

"Inpefa (Sotagliflozin)" is named on both the Heart failure and the Stroke approved-medication lists — two funds, with the heart-failure one paying the larger maximum. Worth stating what Inpefa is NOT on: the Type 2 diabetes fund does not list it, despite Inpefa being an SGLT2 inhibitor, because its label indication is cardiovascular rather than glycaemic. Apply to the heart funds.

If you have Medicare: These funds require government-insured coverage — Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE — that covers your qualifying expenses. Medicare beneficiaries are eligible when a fund is open, and unlike Lexicon's copay program these funds do not exclude Medigap holders.

What it can cover: When open: Heart failure fund $1,000 guaranteed and up to $2,500 maximum; Stroke fund $1,000 guaranteed and up to $1,500. Covers medication copays, coinsurance, deductibles and health-insurance premiums. One grant per condition.

Who may qualify

  • Confirmed heart failure or stroke diagnosis, in treatment, starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months
  • Government-insured coverage (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your qualifying expenses
  • Household income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index
  • Confirmed diagnosis matching the fund, and in treatment (or starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months)
  • Legal U.S. resident receiving treatment in the U.S. or a U.S. territory

What the application asks for

  • Contact information and Social Security number (or alien number)
  • Annual household income (for pre-screening; proof of income due within 30 days of approval)
  • Health insurance carrier, plan type, policy ID and group number; Medicare supplement or secondary insurance if you have one
  • Copay or coinsurance amounts
  • Your provider's name and contact information, diagnosis (exact date if within 6 months), prescribed medications and treatment plan

How to apply

Sign up for fund notifications (text, email or automated call) at totalassist.org/notify — choose the fund matching your diagnosis, since the awards differ. When a fund opens: You (the patient) apply online — it takes about 15 minutes and you learn immediately whether you are approved — or call 866-512-3861, Monday–Friday 8:30am–5:30pm ET. Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis and treatment plan directly with your provider and verifies income automatically; you have 30 days after approval to provide proof of income.

Charitable grant

HealthWell Foundation — heart funds all closed

HealthWell Foundation · Chronic Heart Failure – Medicare Access · Cardiomyopathy – Medicare Access

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: Both cardiovascular funds were closed on August 26, 2026. HealthWell had no open cardiovascular fund of any kind on that date.

HealthWell runs a Chronic Heart Failure fund designed for Medicare beneficiaries and it was closed, as was its Cardiomyopathy fund. With Lexicon's copay program excluding Medicare and its patient assistance unpublished, these alerts are among the few concrete actions available.

If you have Medicare: Both are "Medicare Access" funds — built specifically for people with Medicare — which makes them worth an alert even while closed, particularly given how thin the manufacturer side is for this medication.

What it can cover: When open: copays, coinsurance, deductibles and health-insurance premiums for the covered diagnosis.

Who may qualify

  • A confirmed chronic heart failure diagnosis, verified by your prescriber
  • Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
  • Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
  • Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
  • Treatment in the United States

What the application asks for

  • Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
  • Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
  • Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
  • Treatment in the United States

How to apply

When a fund is open, apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature. When a fund is closed, sign up for that fund's real-time alerts — HealthWell says replenished funds reopen "as quickly as possible."

Charitable grant

Good Days — no applicable fund

Good Days

No program found Medicare: not stated

Status: Good Days' published disease list on August 26, 2026 contained 57 programs and none of them was heart failure or any cardiovascular condition.

An honest negative, checked so you do not spend time on a third foundation that has no fund for you.

If you have Medicare: Good Days accepts Medicare beneficiaries for the diseases it covers, but it covers no diagnosis that applies to Inpefa.

How to apply

Not applicable today. The diseases-covered page shows every fund Good Days runs.

How to apply for Inpefa assistance

The written steps are complete on their own; the video above will walk through the same process when it is published.

  1. Step 1 — Find the applicable assistance program

    For Inpefa on Medicare in August 2026, the manufacturer side is thin, so the order runs the other way from most pages:

    • Limited income and resources → Medicare Extra Help through Social Security. This is the route with published rules you can check today.
    • Enrol in the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan if the problem is a large bill early in the year rather than the annual total.
    • Heart failure or stroke diagnosis → set alerts on the TotalAssist Heart failure and Stroke funds and the HealthWell heart funds (all closed when checked).
    • Call INPEFA Together on 1-855-246-7332 and ask specifically about patient assistance — Lexicon says help may exist but publishes nothing about it.
    • Ask your cardiologist about Entresto, Farxiga or Jardiance, which have Medicare-negotiated prices already in effect. A clinical decision, but the cost difference is real.
    • Do not spend time on the copay program — it excludes Medicare, Medicare Advantage and Medigap by name.
  2. Step 2 — Check whether applications are currently open

    The copay program was open but closed to Medicare; every charitable fund was closed.

    • INPEFA Together: the financial-support page is the authoritative source for the copay terms. The savings route on inpefa.com renders client-side and returned an error to direct requests, so use the INPEFA Together site.
    • TotalAssist: the Heart failure and Stroke fund pages each show "Open" or "Closed" and their own award amounts.
    • HealthWell: the disease-funds list shows the Chronic Heart Failure – Medicare Access fund and its status.
  3. Step 3 — Check eligibility

    Only the government and charitable routes have rules you can check yourself:

    • Extra Help: income below about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a couple, and countable resources limited to $18,090 or $36,100 in 2026.
    • TotalAssist (when open): government insurance covering Inpefa; income at or below 500% FPL adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index; a confirmed heart failure or stroke diagnosis in treatment.
    • HealthWell (when open): insurance that covers part of the drug's cost, a prescriber-verified chronic heart failure diagnosis, and treatment in the United States.
    • Lexicon patient assistance: NOT PUBLISHED. Ask on the call.
    • INPEFA Together Copay Program: commercial insurance only; Medicare, Medicare Advantage, Medigap, Medicaid, VA, DoD and TRICARE all excluded.
  4. Step 4 — Gather your information

    Whichever route you take, these are what will be asked for:

    • Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card, with policy ID and group number.
    • Your diagnosis and its date — heart failure, or the combination of type 2 diabetes, chronic kidney disease and cardiovascular risk factors. TotalAssist needs the exact date if it was within the past 6 months.
    • Your Inpefa strength — 200 mg or 400 mg.
    • Household size and annual household income, plus proof.
    • Your prescriber's name, office address and phone.
  5. Step 5 — Complete the application

    Who fills out what:

    • Extra Help: you (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone on 1-800-772-1213, or at an office. There is never a fee.
    • TotalAssist (when open): you apply online in about 15 minutes or by phone on 866-512-3861; apply to the fund matching your diagnosis.
    • HealthWell (when open): apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature.
    • Lexicon patient assistance: unknown — ask on the call what form exists and who must sign it.
    • Medicare Prescription Payment Plan: you opt in through your Part D plan.
  6. Step 6 — Submit and wait for a determination

    What to expect:

    • Extra Help: Social Security notifies you by mail; your Part D plan then applies the lower copays.
    • TotalAssist (when open): an immediate online decision, with proof of income due within 30 days of approval.
    • HealthWell (when open): a decision once your provider returns the diagnosis verification.
    • Lexicon patient assistance: unverified timeframe — ask when you make contact.
  7. Step 7 — If the program is closed or you don't qualify

    With no generic and no negotiated price, the alternatives are structural:

    • Ask your cardiologist about Entresto, Farxiga or Jardiance. All three are used in heart failure and all three have Medicare-negotiated prices in effect since January 1, 2026, which Inpefa does not. This is a clinical decision, but it is a fair question to raise.
    • Enrol in the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments.
    • Ask your prescriber's office about a formulary or tier exception if Inpefa sits on a high tier.
    • Do not wait for a generic — DailyMed labels a single sotagliflozin product.
    • Apply for Extra Help even if you assume you earn too much; the limits are higher than most people expect.
    • Call Vernal Medicare — we will work through every route above with you, free.

What you'll need

Only items the programs above actually ask for. Gather these before you start.

  • Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card — plan name, member ID and group number
  • Prescription details — medication name, strength and dose; prescriber name, office phone and address
  • Diagnosis and date of diagnosis — TotalAssist needs the exact date if diagnosed within the past 6 months
  • Household size and annual household income — and proof — tax return, Social Security or pension statements, or pay stubs
  • Your Inpefa strength — 200 mg or 400 mg — the dose is usually titrated upward after starting
  • Whether your diagnosis is heart failure or the diabetes-plus-kidney-disease combination — the TotalAssist Heart failure fund pays up to $2,500 and the Stroke fund up to $1,500 — and the Type 2 diabetes fund does not list Inpefa at all

If assistance is unavailable

A closed fund or a denial is not the end of the road. Check these next:

  1. Ask your cardiologist whether Entresto, Farxiga or Jardiance would work for you. All three are used in heart failure and all three have Medicare-negotiated prices already in effect, while Inpefa has none.
  2. Enrol in the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan. With no generic, no negotiated price and a copay program that excludes Medicare, spreading the cost is often the most practical step available. Medicare.gov
  3. Sign up for TotalAssist fund notifications so you hear the moment a Inpefa fund reopens — there is no waitlist or queue, so speed matters. TotalAssist notifications
  4. Sign up for HealthWell fund alerts for the same reason; HealthWell says closed funds reopen as funding is replenished. HealthWell disease funds
  5. Check Medicare Extra Help — it does not depend on a fund balance and lowers the cost of every covered drug, not just this one. Extra Help in Utah
  6. Ask your doctor's office — many practices have staff who handle assistance applications routinely and can request a formulary exception or a lower-cost alternative.
  7. Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments (it does not lower the total). Medicare.gov
  8. Compare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans during the fall enrollment period — the tier and cost-sharing for Inpefa differ from plan to plan. Part D plans in Vernal

Could Medicare Extra Help reduce your Inpefa costs?

Extra Help is not a grant for Inpefa. It is a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription — so it is worth checking even when a charitable fund is closed, because it does not depend on fund balances.

Extra Help matters more for Inpefa than for the heart-failure medicines that have negotiated prices, because there is no negotiated price and no generic to lower the underlying cost here. It reduces cost-sharing on every covered drug you take, and with full Extra Help a covered brand-name drug costs about $12.65 in 2026. There is no manufacturer program with published rules to weigh it against, so there is nothing to choose between — if your income and resources are limited, apply.

In 2026, people with full Extra Help generally pay no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug. Income must be below about $23,940 a year for one person ($32,460 for a couple) and countable resources under $18,090 ($36,100 for a couple). Apply free through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person — and never pay anyone to apply for you.

Government program

Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy)

Medicare / Social Security Administration

Accepting applications Medicare: may apply

Status: Year-round federal program (figures for 2026)

Not a grant for one drug — a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription.

If you have Medicare: For people with Medicare Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan who have limited income and resources.

What it can cover: Part D premium and deductible (often to $0) and reduced copays — generally no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug in 2026 with full Extra Help.

Who may qualify

  • Income below 150% of the federal poverty level — about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a married couple in 2026.
  • Countable resources (savings, investments — not your home or car) limited to $18,090 for an individual or $36,100 for a married couple living together in 2026 (Medicare.gov figures, which include a burial-expense allowance).
  • Automatic if you have Medicaid, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or a Medicare Savings Program.

What the application asks for

  • Social Security number and Medicare number
  • Income (Social Security, pensions, wages) for you and a spouse you live with
  • Value of savings, investments and other countable resources

How to apply

You (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone, or at a Social Security office. There is never a fee to apply.

Key terms on this page

Patient assistance program (PAP)
A manufacturer program that provides its medication free or at low cost to people who meet income and insurance rules. Many PAPs accept Medicare Part D enrollees; each sets its own criteria.
Copay card / savings card
A manufacturer discount for commercially insured patients. Federal anti-kickback rules mean these cards generally cannot be used with Medicare, Medicaid or other government insurance.
Charitable copay grant
Money from a nonprofit foundation (for example HealthWell or Patient Advocate Foundation) that pays eligible copays or coinsurance for a specific diagnosis. A drug can be listed while the fund is closed to new applicants.
Federal poverty level (FPL)
A federal income measure that assistance programs use as a yardstick — "300% of FPL", "500% of FPL". The percentage is a rule, but the dollar figure behind it comes from a table each program publishes itself, built on a chosen year of the HHS poverty guidelines. Two programs can quote the same percentage in the same year and still list different dollar limits; compare each program against its own table, not against another program.
Medicare Extra Help
The Part D Low-Income Subsidy: a Medicare program that lowers or eliminates Part D premiums, deductibles and copays for beneficiaries with limited income and resources. You apply through Social Security.
Maximum Fair Price (MFP)
The price Medicare negotiated for a selected drug under the Medicare Drug Price Negotiation Program. It applies to Part D plans, not to the pharmacy cash price, and it lowers what plans and enrollees pay for that drug.

Related medication assistance guides

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Medicare cover Inpefa?
Yes — Medicare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans generally cover Inpefa, usually on a brand tier and often behind prior authorization. Part D out-of-pocket costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026. If your income and resources are limited, Medicare Extra Help can bring a covered brand-name copay to about $12.65, which carries more weight here than for heart-failure drugs that have negotiated prices.
Is there an Inpefa patient assistance program for people on Medicare?
Not one with published terms. Lexicon says on its financial-support page that "If you don't have insurance or your insurance doesn't cover INPEFA, you may still get help paying for INPEFA" — but it publishes no program name, no income limits, no criteria and no application route. Rather than fill that gap from a third-party site, this page records it. Call INPEFA Together on 1-855-246-7332 and ask specifically about patient assistance, and ask whether a Part D plan that denies Inpefa counts as insurance that "doesn't cover" it.
Can I use the $10 Inpefa copay card with Medicare?
No. Lexicon's terms are broad: "Offer not valid for prescriptions reimbursed under Medicare, Medicare Advantage, Medigap, Medicaid, VA, DoD, or TRICARE." Medigap appears in that list, which some manufacturers leave out, so having a supplement policy is itself disqualifying. The program also caps at 13 uses a year even for those who can use it.
Why is Inpefa not on the diabetes charity fund when it is an SGLT2 inhibitor?
Because the funds follow the label indication rather than the drug class. Inpefa's label indicates it "to reduce the risk of cardiovascular death, hospitalization for heart failure, and urgent heart failure visit" — it has no blood-sugar-lowering indication, even though it works the same way as Farxiga and Jardiance, which do. So TotalAssist lists Inpefa on its Heart failure and Stroke funds and not on its Type 2 diabetes fund. If you apply to the diabetes fund you will be applying against a list your medication is not on.
Is Inpefa part of Medicare drug price negotiation?
No. CMS's selected-drug and Maximum Fair Price file has no Inpefa or sotagliflozin row for initial price applicability year 2026, 2027 or 2028. Three other medicines used in heart failure were selected in the first cycle and have had negotiated prices in effect since January 1, 2026 — Entresto, Farxiga and Jardiance. Inpefa is a newer, single-product medicine from a small manufacturer, which is the usual reason a drug has not yet reached the selection criteria.
Is there a generic for Inpefa?
No. DailyMed lists a single labelled sotagliflozin product, Lexicon's Inpefa. There is no generic to ask your prescriber about, which is why the practical alternatives on this page are a formulary exception, the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan, Extra Help, and the conversation about negotiated-price medicines in the same class. See all prescription assistance options.

Sources

Having trouble figuring out your prescription costs?

If you live in Vernal or the Uintah Basin, Vernal Medicare can help you understand your Medicare prescription coverage and where to look for Inpefa assistance — free, no pressure. We don't award grants or decide eligibility; the programs above do. We help you find and apply to the right ones.

Call 435-219-5120 Schedule a Free Review

Call Text Us