📧 [email protected] 📞 435-219-5120 (TTY: 711) Search 🌐 EnglishEspañol

Diabetes & Blood Sugar · Heart & Blood Pressure

Invokana Assistance Programs & Grants in Utah

Assistance information last verified: August 2026

Probably — the Johnson & Johnson Patient Assistance Foundation covers Invokana and describes itself as serving people with "government coverage that does not fully meet your needs", which is a Medicare-shaped description. But J&J does not publish its income limits anywhere we could read them, so this page records that gap rather than filling it. Both diabetes charitable funds were closed. Financial assistance may be available through charitable foundations, manufacturer programs, Medicare's Extra Help program, or other assistance resources. Availability and eligibility change frequently — the information on this page was verified in August 2026.

How to Apply for Invokana Assistance Why Invokana has no generic and no negotiated price when Farxiga and Jardiance have both, what J&J does and does not publish, and the question to ask your prescriber about switching within the class.

Can I get help paying for Invokana?

Probably — the Johnson & Johnson Patient Assistance Foundation covers Invokana and describes itself as serving people with "government coverage that does not fully meet your needs", which is a Medicare-shaped description. But J&J does not publish its income limits anywhere we could read them, so this page records that gap rather than filling it. Both diabetes charitable funds were closed.

  • Johnson & Johnson Patient Assistance Foundation: covers Invokana; medicine "at no cost for up to one year" for people who are "uninsured or have commercial, employer-sponsored, or government coverage that does not fully meet your needs". Income limits could NOT be verified at the source.
  • J&J withMe Savings Program: "$0 per month" — but "Not valid for patients using Medicare, Medicaid, or other government-funded programs to pay for their medications."
  • NO generic canagliflozin exists. DailyMed resolves to two brands only, Invokana and Invokamet; the other records are repackagers.
  • Invokana is NOT a Medicare-negotiated drug — while Farxiga and Jardiance, both SGLT2 inhibitors, have had negotiated prices in effect since January 1, 2026.
  • Federal cash price: TrumpRx lists Invokana at $225.00.
  • Charitable grants: TotalAssist's Type 2 diabetes funds list Invokana, Invokamet and Invokamet XR — both closed ($1,500 guaranteed / $2,000 maximum). HealthWell's Type 2 Diabetes fund was closed. Good Days has a Chronic Kidney Disease program but no diabetes program.

2 of the 6 programs we checked for Invokana were accepting applications when verified in August 2026.

About Invokana (canagliflozin)

Invokana is a once-daily SGLT2 inhibitor tablet for type 2 diabetes, in the same class as Farxiga and Jardiance. The class similarity is where most people start and where the useful differences begin: Invokana has no generic, and unlike its two closest competitors it is not a Medicare-negotiated drug — so what you pay for it can differ substantially from what you would pay for the others.

Approved uses

  • Improving blood sugar control in adults with type 2 diabetes, alongside diet and exercise
  • Reducing cardiovascular and kidney-related risks in adults with type 2 diabetes who meet the label's criteria — confirm which indications apply to your prescription with your prescriber

Manufacturer: Janssen Pharmaceuticals (Johnson & Johnson)

Why Invokana can be expensive on Medicare

Invokana is a brand-only tablet taken indefinitely, and it sits in an unusual position within its own class. There is no generic canagliflozin: DailyMed's canagliflozin records resolve to just two brands, Invokana and the combination Invokamet, with the remaining entries being repackagers of the brand rather than independent generics. And where Farxiga and Jardiance both have Medicare-negotiated prices in effect since January 1, 2026, Invokana has none. Those two facts together are why an SGLT2 prescription can cost very different amounts depending on which one you were written for.

Medicare coverage context

Invokana is a tablet you take yourself, so Medicare covers it under Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan, usually on a brand tier. It is not a Medicare-negotiated drug — CMS's selected-drug and Maximum Fair Price file has no Invokana or canagliflozin row for 2026, 2027 or 2028. That is worth checking rather than assuming, because two other SGLT2 inhibitors, Farxiga and Jardiance, were both selected in the first negotiation cycle and have had negotiated prices in effect since January 1, 2026. If cost is the obstacle, the question worth asking your prescriber is whether a negotiated-price SGLT2 would work as well for you — a clinical decision, but one where the Medicare arithmetic genuinely differs. Part D out-of-pocket costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026, Extra Help lowers cost-sharing for people with limited income and resources, and the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan can spread what you owe across the year.

Invokana assistance options at a glance

Every program we checked, what kind of help it is, whether people with Medicare can use it, and its status when we verified it. A medication being listed by a program is not the same as the program accepting applications.

About the income limits below: Income limits can differ between assistance programs even when both describe their eligibility as the same percentage of the federal poverty level. The dollar limits shown here come from each program's own published income table, and each program decides which year's poverty guidelines that table is built from and when it takes effect. Treat the figures as belonging to the program they are listed under — they are not interchangeable, and only the program can tell you which table it is applying to your application today.

Invokana assistance programs compared
ProgramType of helpPeople with MedicareStatus (August 2026)
Johnson & Johnson Patient Assistance Foundation Manufacturer patient assistance with conditions Check current availability
J&J withMe Savings Program Commercial copay / savings card not eligible Accepting applications
Cash price via TrumpRx Manufacturer self-pay pricing with conditions Accepting applications
TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes funds Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
HealthWell Foundation — Type 2 Diabetes fund Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
Good Days — no applicable diabetes fund Charitable grant not stated No program found
Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy) Government program may apply Accepting applications

Manufacturer programs from Janssen Pharmaceuticals (Johnson & Johnson)

A patient assistance program (free or low-cost drug by income) is not the same as a copay card (a commercial discount that usually excludes Medicare). Both are listed so you can see which one applies to you.

Manufacturer patient assistance

Johnson & Johnson Patient Assistance Foundation

Johnson & Johnson Patient Assistance Foundation, Inc.

Check current availability Medicare: with conditions

Status: The foundation covers Invokana and was accepting applications on August 26, 2026 — J&J's own Invokana site describes it and links to it. What could not be established is who qualifies: patientassistanceinfo.com redirects to a Quick Reference Guide PDF whose text layer is font-encoded, the enrolment form has the same problem, and the enrolment portal renders client-side. The income limits are therefore recorded as unverified rather than taken from a third-party site.

A free-medicine program that covers Invokana for up to a year at a time, with a description that reads as open to Medicare beneficiaries whose coverage leaves them exposed. The eligibility numbers are the part this page could not verify, so treat the phone call as the necessary step rather than an optional one.

If you have Medicare: J&J's published description is the most useful thing we could confirm, and it is genuinely encouraging for a Medicare reader: the program is for people who are "uninsured or have commercial, employer-sponsored, or government coverage that does not fully meet your needs". Medicare is government coverage, and "does not fully meet your needs" is the kind of wording that admits a Part D beneficiary facing unaffordable cost-sharing — which is a materially more open position than a flat exclusion. The foundation's own quick-reference guide links to the Social Security Extra Help page, which indicates it addresses Medicare beneficiaries directly. But the specific rule and the income ceiling are not readable, so call and ask: whether Medicare Part D enrollees may apply, what the income limit is for your household size, and whether Extra Help enrolment affects it.

What it can cover: Invokana at no cost for up to one year to approved patients, with annual reapplication.

Who may qualify

  • Uninsured, or holding commercial, employer-sponsored or government coverage "that does not fully meet your needs" — J&J's own wording
  • Demonstrated financial hardship
  • Current income limits: UNVERIFIED — J&J's published guide and enrolment form could not be read by automated access on the checked date
  • Confirm directly before applying, and before ruling yourself out

What the application asks for

  • Proof of household income
  • Your insurance details, including Medicare Part D coverage if you have it
  • Your prescriber's details — the enrolment form has a provider section

How to apply

Enrol through the Johnson & Johnson patient assistance portal, or call 877-468-6526 (Monday–Friday, 8am–8pm ET; multilingual support available). Because the published criteria could not be verified, a phone call is the reliable route for this medication. Patients with Medicare must reapply each calendar year.

Commercial copay / savings card

J&J withMe Savings Program

Johnson & Johnson

Accepting applications Medicare: not eligible

Status: Active for commercially insured patients on August 26, 2026, offering "$0 per month" for eligible patients.

A commercial copay offer at $0 a month. Listed so Medicare readers can rule it out immediately — and so anyone approaching 65 understands that a $0 Invokana copay ends when Medicare begins, which is one of the more jarring transitions on this site.

If you have Medicare: J&J states it plainly: the savings program is "Not valid for patients using Medicare, Medicaid, or other government-funded programs to pay for their medications." This is the standard federal position on manufacturer copay support. J&J directs Medicare beneficiaries to the patient assistance foundation instead, which for Invokana is the correct route.

What it can cover: Part of the commercial copay for Invokana. Not applicable to Medicare cost-sharing.

Who may qualify

  • Commercial (private or employer-sponsored) prescription insurance
  • Not using Medicare, Medicaid or another government-funded program to pay for the medication

How to apply

Commercially insured patients enrol at Account.JNJwithMe.com or by calling 866-228-3546 (Monday–Friday, 8am–8pm ET). Medicare beneficiaries should apply to the patient assistance foundation instead.

Manufacturer self-pay pricing

Cash price via TrumpRx

U.S. federal government listing of manufacturer cash prices

Accepting applications Medicare: with conditions

Status: Invokana listed at $225.00 on August 26, 2026.

A published federal cash price, useful as a benchmark against your plan's cost-sharing. Since there is no generic canagliflozin to fall back on, this is the only alternative price for the molecule.

If you have Medicare: A cash price is available to anyone, but buying outside your Part D plan means the spending does not count toward your deductible or your $2,100 annual out-of-pocket cap. Worth running the comparison rather than assuming either way: if your plan puts Invokana on a high tier with percentage coinsurance, $225.00 may be competitive; if you are heading for the annual cap because of other medications, staying inside the plan is usually better.

What it can cover: Invokana at the listed cash price, outside insurance.

Who may qualify

  • Paying cash rather than using prescription insurance for that fill

How to apply

Check the current listing and follow the purchase route it gives. Compare against your plan's cost-sharing first.

Charitable grants for Invokana

TotalAssist lists Invokana, Invokamet and Invokamet XR on its Type 2 diabetes fund and the health-equity version, each paying $1,500 guaranteed up to $2,000, and both were closed on August 26, 2026. HealthWell's Type 2 Diabetes fund was closed as well, and it runs no SGLT2 or diabetic kidney disease fund. Good Days has no diabetes program, though it does run a Chronic Kidney Disease program — worth a question if kidney protection is the reason you were prescribed Invokana, but not something to assume. With the charitable side shut and the J&J income limits unverified, the routes you can act on today are the phone call to J&J, the cash-price comparison at $225.00, Extra Help, and the conversation with your prescriber about whether a negotiated-price SGLT2 would serve you as well.

Charitable grant

TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes funds

Patient Advocate Foundation · Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) · Type 2 diabetes health equity

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: Both funds were closed to new applicants on August 26, 2026, each with a $1,500 guaranteed and $2,000 maximum award.

"Invokana (Canagliflozin)" is named on the Type 2 diabetes approved-medication list, along with Invokamet and Invokamet XR — so a move to the combination product would not cost you fund eligibility. Both funds were closed when we checked.

If you have Medicare: These funds require government-insured coverage — Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE — that covers your qualifying expenses. Medicare beneficiaries are eligible when a fund is open. Unlike the J&J program, these funds publish their rules plainly, which is a reason to work them in parallel while you wait for J&J to answer.

What it can cover: When open: $1,500 guaranteed award and up to $2,000 maximum for medication copays, coinsurance, deductibles and health-insurance premiums. One grant per condition.

Who may qualify

  • Confirmed type 2 diabetes diagnosis, in treatment, starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months
  • Government-insured coverage (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your qualifying expenses
  • Household income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index
  • Confirmed diagnosis matching the fund, and in treatment (or starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months)
  • Legal U.S. resident receiving treatment in the U.S. or a U.S. territory
  • The health-equity fund additionally requires a home zip code in a designated social-vulnerability county

What the application asks for

  • Contact information and Social Security number (or alien number)
  • Annual household income (for pre-screening; proof of income due within 30 days of approval)
  • Health insurance carrier, plan type, policy ID and group number; Medicare supplement or secondary insurance if you have one
  • Copay or coinsurance amounts
  • Your provider's name and contact information, diagnosis (exact date if within 6 months), prescribed medications and treatment plan

How to apply

Sign up for fund notifications (text, email or automated call) at totalassist.org/notify. When a fund opens: You (the patient) apply online — it takes about 15 minutes and you learn immediately whether you are approved — or call 866-512-3861, Monday–Friday 8:30am–5:30pm ET. Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis and treatment plan directly with your provider and verifies income automatically; you have 30 days after approval to provide proof of income.

Charitable grant

HealthWell Foundation — Type 2 Diabetes fund

HealthWell Foundation · Type 2 Diabetes

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: Closed on August 26, 2026. HealthWell runs no SGLT2-specific fund and no diabetic kidney disease fund, so there is no narrower fund to fall back on even though Invokana carries kidney indications.

One applicable fund, closed. Worth noting for anyone prescribed Invokana primarily for kidney protection: HealthWell has no fund matching that use, so the type 2 diabetes fund is the only route here.

If you have Medicare: HealthWell accepts Medicare beneficiaries for the diseases it covers. Its Type 2 Diabetes fund was closed when we checked.

What it can cover: When open: copays, coinsurance, deductibles and health-insurance premiums for type 2 diabetes.

Who may qualify

  • A confirmed type 2 diabetes diagnosis, verified by your prescriber
  • Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
  • Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
  • Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
  • Treatment in the United States

What the application asks for

  • Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
  • Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
  • Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
  • Treatment in the United States

How to apply

When a fund is open, apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature. When a fund is closed, sign up for that fund's real-time alerts — HealthWell says replenished funds reopen "as quickly as possible."

Charitable grant

Good Days — no applicable diabetes fund

Good Days

No program found Medicare: not stated

Status: Good Days' published disease list on August 26, 2026 contained 57 programs and none of them was diabetes. It does run a Chronic Kidney Disease program, which is a different diagnosis from the one Invokana is usually prescribed under — worth a question to your prescriber if kidney disease is your primary diagnosis, but not a diabetes route.

An honest negative with one caveat worth raising: Good Days runs a Chronic Kidney Disease program, and Invokana is sometimes prescribed principally for kidney protection. Whether that program would cover your prescription is a question for Good Days, not an assumption this page will make.

If you have Medicare: Good Days accepts Medicare beneficiaries for the diseases it covers. It covers no diabetes diagnosis.

How to apply

Not applicable for a diabetes diagnosis. The diseases-covered page shows every fund Good Days runs, including its Chronic Kidney Disease program.

How to apply for Invokana assistance

The written steps are complete on their own; the video above will walk through the same process when it is published.

  1. Step 1 — Find the applicable assistance program

    For Invokana on Medicare in August 2026, one clinical question sits alongside the financial ones:

    • Call the J&J Patient Assistance Foundation on 877-468-6526. Its description fits Medicare beneficiaries, but its income limits are not published, so the call is the only way to a current answer.
    • Limited income and resources → Medicare Extra Help through Social Security, which you can apply for today.
    • Ask your prescriber whether Farxiga or Jardiance would work for you. Both are SGLT2 inhibitors with Medicare-negotiated prices already in effect; Invokana has none. This is a clinical decision, not a cost one, but the cost difference is real.
    • Compare the $225.00 TrumpRx cash price against your plan's cost-sharing.
    • Type 2 diabetes → set alerts on the TotalAssist and HealthWell diabetes funds (all closed when checked).
    • Do not wait for a generic — there is no generic canagliflozin.
  2. Step 2 — Check whether applications are currently open

    The manufacturer foundation was open but its criteria unverified; the charitable funds were closed.

    • J&J Patient Assistance Foundation: covering Invokana and accepting applications; the criteria could not be read, so confirm by phone.
    • TotalAssist: the Type 2 diabetes fund pages show "Open" or "Closed" and current award amounts.
    • HealthWell: the disease-funds list shows the Type 2 Diabetes fund and its status.
  3. Step 3 — Check eligibility

    Two of these publish their rules; the manufacturer program does not:

    • J&J Patient Assistance Foundation: for people who are uninsured or whose commercial, employer-sponsored or government coverage "does not fully meet your needs". Income limits UNVERIFIED — ask for the figure for your household size.
    • J&J withMe Savings Program: commercial insurance only; Medicare, Medicaid and other government programs excluded by name.
    • TotalAssist (when open): government insurance covering Invokana; income at or below 500% FPL adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index; a confirmed type 2 diabetes diagnosis.
    • HealthWell (when open): insurance that covers part of the drug's cost, a prescriber-verified type 2 diabetes diagnosis, and treatment in the United States.
    • Extra Help: income below about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a couple, and countable resources limited to $18,090 or $36,100 in 2026.
  4. Step 4 — Gather your information

    Whichever route you take, these are what will be asked for:

    • Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card, with policy ID and group number.
    • Household size and annual household income, plus proof.
    • Your type 2 diabetes diagnosis and its date. TotalAssist needs the exact date if it was within the past 6 months.
    • Your Invokana strength — 100 mg or 300 mg — and whether you take Invokana or the combination Invokamet.
    • Whether Invokana was prescribed principally for blood sugar, for cardiovascular risk or for kidney protection; it affects which fund fits.
    • Your prescriber's name, office address and phone.
  5. Step 5 — Complete the application

    Who fills out what:

    • J&J Patient Assistance Foundation: enrol through the portal or call 877-468-6526; the form has a provider section for your prescriber. Medicare patients reapply each calendar year.
    • Extra Help: you (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone on 1-800-772-1213, or at an office. There is never a fee.
    • TotalAssist (when open): you apply online in about 15 minutes or by phone on 866-512-3861.
    • HealthWell (when open): apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature.
  6. Step 6 — Submit and wait for a determination

    What to expect:

    • J&J Patient Assistance Foundation: approved patients receive medicine at no cost for up to one year; ask about the current timeframe when you call.
    • Extra Help: Social Security notifies you by mail; your Part D plan then applies the lower copays.
    • TotalAssist (when open): an immediate online decision, with proof of income due within 30 days of approval.
  7. Step 7 — If the program is closed or you don't qualify

    The most useful conversation here is with your prescriber rather than a program:

    • Ask whether Farxiga or Jardiance would serve you as well. Both are SGLT2 inhibitors with Medicare-negotiated prices in effect since January 1, 2026, and Invokana has none — so the same class can cost meaningfully different amounts.
    • Do not wait for a generic canagliflozin. DailyMed shows only Invokana and Invokamet as brands; the other records are repackagers, not independent generics.
    • Compare the $225.00 federal cash price against your plan's cost-sharing, remembering that cash spending does not count toward your out-of-pocket cap.
    • Ask your prescriber's office about a formulary or tier exception if your plan puts Invokana on a high tier.
    • Apply for Extra Help even if you assume you earn too much; the limits are higher than most people expect.
    • Call Vernal Medicare — we will work through every route above with you, free.

What you'll need

Only items the programs above actually ask for. Gather these before you start.

  • Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card — plan name, member ID and group number
  • Prescription details — medication name, strength and dose; prescriber name, office phone and address
  • Diagnosis and date of diagnosis — TotalAssist needs the exact date if diagnosed within the past 6 months
  • Household size and annual household income — and proof — tax return, Social Security or pension statements, or pay stubs
  • Your Invokana strength, and whether you take Invokana or Invokamet — 100 mg or 300 mg; the combination product is listed separately on the fund lists
  • Whether Invokana was prescribed for blood sugar, cardiovascular risk or kidney protection — the charitable funds are diagnosis-based, and Good Days runs a kidney program but no diabetes one

If assistance is unavailable

A closed fund or a denial is not the end of the road. Check these next:

  1. Ask your prescriber whether Farxiga or Jardiance would work for you. Both are SGLT2 inhibitors with Medicare-negotiated prices already in effect, while Invokana has none — a clinical decision, but one with a real cost difference behind it.
  2. Compare the federal cash price for Invokana — $225.00 on TrumpRx — against what your plan charges you. TrumpRx
  3. Sign up for TotalAssist fund notifications so you hear the moment a Invokana fund reopens — there is no waitlist or queue, so speed matters. TotalAssist notifications
  4. Sign up for HealthWell fund alerts for the same reason; HealthWell says closed funds reopen as funding is replenished. HealthWell disease funds
  5. Check Medicare Extra Help — it does not depend on a fund balance and lowers the cost of every covered drug, not just this one. Extra Help in Utah
  6. Ask your doctor's office — many practices have staff who handle assistance applications routinely and can request a formulary exception or a lower-cost alternative.
  7. Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments (it does not lower the total). Medicare.gov
  8. Compare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans during the fall enrollment period — the tier and cost-sharing for Invokana differ from plan to plan. Part D plans in Vernal

Could Medicare Extra Help reduce your Invokana costs?

Extra Help is not a grant for Invokana. It is a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription — so it is worth checking even when a charitable fund is closed, because it does not depend on fund balances.

Extra Help matters more for Invokana than for the SGLT2 inhibitors that have negotiated prices, because there is no negotiated price here to lower the underlying cost. It reduces cost-sharing on every covered drug you take, and with full Extra Help a covered brand-name drug costs about $12.65 in 2026 — which against a brand-tier SGLT2 with no generic is a substantial difference. Whether Extra Help affects a J&J Patient Assistance Foundation application is one of the questions this page could not answer; add it to the list when you call.

In 2026, people with full Extra Help generally pay no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug. Income must be below about $23,940 a year for one person ($32,460 for a couple) and countable resources under $18,090 ($36,100 for a couple). Apply free through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person — and never pay anyone to apply for you.

Government program

Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy)

Medicare / Social Security Administration

Accepting applications Medicare: may apply

Status: Year-round federal program (figures for 2026)

Not a grant for one drug — a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription.

If you have Medicare: For people with Medicare Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan who have limited income and resources.

What it can cover: Part D premium and deductible (often to $0) and reduced copays — generally no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug in 2026 with full Extra Help.

Who may qualify

  • Income below 150% of the federal poverty level — about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a married couple in 2026.
  • Countable resources (savings, investments — not your home or car) limited to $18,090 for an individual or $36,100 for a married couple living together in 2026 (Medicare.gov figures, which include a burial-expense allowance).
  • Automatic if you have Medicaid, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or a Medicare Savings Program.

What the application asks for

  • Social Security number and Medicare number
  • Income (Social Security, pensions, wages) for you and a spouse you live with
  • Value of savings, investments and other countable resources

How to apply

You (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone, or at a Social Security office. There is never a fee to apply.

Key terms on this page

Patient assistance program (PAP)
A manufacturer program that provides its medication free or at low cost to people who meet income and insurance rules. Many PAPs accept Medicare Part D enrollees; each sets its own criteria.
Copay card / savings card
A manufacturer discount for commercially insured patients. Federal anti-kickback rules mean these cards generally cannot be used with Medicare, Medicaid or other government insurance.
Charitable copay grant
Money from a nonprofit foundation (for example HealthWell or Patient Advocate Foundation) that pays eligible copays or coinsurance for a specific diagnosis. A drug can be listed while the fund is closed to new applicants.
Federal poverty level (FPL)
A federal income measure that assistance programs use as a yardstick — "300% of FPL", "500% of FPL". The percentage is a rule, but the dollar figure behind it comes from a table each program publishes itself, built on a chosen year of the HHS poverty guidelines. Two programs can quote the same percentage in the same year and still list different dollar limits; compare each program against its own table, not against another program.
Medicare Extra Help
The Part D Low-Income Subsidy: a Medicare program that lowers or eliminates Part D premiums, deductibles and copays for beneficiaries with limited income and resources. You apply through Social Security.
Maximum Fair Price (MFP)
The price Medicare negotiated for a selected drug under the Medicare Drug Price Negotiation Program. It applies to Part D plans, not to the pharmacy cash price, and it lowers what plans and enrollees pay for that drug.

Related medication assistance guides

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Medicare cover Invokana?
Yes — Medicare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans generally cover Invokana, usually on a brand tier. Part D out-of-pocket costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026. If your income and resources are limited, Medicare Extra Help can bring a covered brand-name copay to about $12.65 — which matters more here than for some SGLT2 inhibitors, because Invokana has no negotiated price and no generic.
Is Invokana part of Medicare drug price negotiation?
No, and this is the fact most worth knowing about Invokana on Medicare. CMS's selected-drug and Maximum Fair Price file has no Invokana or canagliflozin row for initial price applicability year 2026, 2027 or 2028. Two other SGLT2 inhibitors were selected in the very first negotiation cycle and have had negotiated prices in effect since January 1, 2026: Farxiga and Jardiance. Three medicines in the same class, and the Medicare arithmetic is genuinely different between them — which is worth raising with your prescriber if cost is the obstacle.
Is there a generic for Invokana?
No. DailyMed returns five canagliflozin records, but they resolve to only two brands — Invokana and the combination Invokamet — with the remaining entries being repackagers of the brand rather than independent generic products. This surprises people because several diabetes brands have gone generic recently, including sitagliptin, the active ingredient in Januvia. For canagliflozin specifically there is nothing to switch to at a generic tier.
Is there an Invokana patient assistance program for people on Medicare?
The Johnson & Johnson Patient Assistance Foundation covers Invokana and supplies it at no cost for up to a year, and J&J describes it as being for people who are "uninsured or have commercial, employer-sponsored, or government coverage that does not fully meet your needs" — wording that reads as open to a Medicare beneficiary facing unaffordable cost-sharing. What we could not confirm is the income limit: J&J's quick-reference guide and enrolment form are PDFs whose text could not be read, and its enrolment portal renders client-side. Call 877-468-6526 and ask for the figure for your household size rather than relying on a number from a third-party site.
Can I use the $0 Invokana savings card with Medicare?
No. J&J's terms say the savings program is "Not valid for patients using Medicare, Medicaid, or other government-funded programs to pay for their medications." This catches people out at 65: a $0 monthly copay on commercial insurance disappears the moment Medicare begins, and there is no equivalent Medicare version of the card. The J&J route that does remain open is the patient assistance foundation.
Is there a charitable grant for Invokana right now?
Not when we checked on August 26, 2026. TotalAssist lists Invokana, Invokamet and Invokamet XR on its Type 2 diabetes fund and the health-equity version, both closed, each with a $1,500 guaranteed and $2,000 maximum award. HealthWell's Type 2 Diabetes fund was closed too. Good Days has no diabetes program, although it does run a Chronic Kidney Disease program — if kidney protection is the reason you were prescribed Invokana, that is worth a question to Good Days directly. See all prescription assistance options.

Sources

Having trouble figuring out your prescription costs?

If you live in Vernal or the Uintah Basin, Vernal Medicare can help you understand your Medicare prescription coverage and where to look for Invokana assistance — free, no pressure. We don't award grants or decide eligibility; the programs above do. We help you find and apply to the right ones.

Call 435-219-5120 Schedule a Free Review

Call Text Us