Diabetes & Blood Sugar · Weight Management / GLP-1
Victoza Assistance Programs & Grants in Utah
Assistance information last verified: August 2026
Not from the manufacturer, and that is the most useful thing on this page. Victoza is NOT on Novo Nordisk's patient assistance program list, even though Tresiba, NovoLog and Ozempic are. What a Medicare beneficiary has instead is generic liraglutide, available from 13 different labelers and priced at $133.58 on the federal TrumpRx site. Financial assistance may be available through charitable foundations, manufacturer programs, Medicare's Extra Help program, or other assistance resources. Availability and eligibility change frequently — the information on this page was verified in August 2026.
Can I get help paying for Victoza?
Not from the manufacturer, and that is the most useful thing on this page. Victoza is NOT on Novo Nordisk's patient assistance program list, even though Tresiba, NovoLog and Ozempic are. What a Medicare beneficiary has instead is generic liraglutide, available from 13 different labelers and priced at $133.58 on the federal TrumpRx site.
- Novo Nordisk Patient Assistance Program: Victoza is NOT on the available-products list (form NNIPAP_11_01012026, read August 26, 2026). The list covers the insulins, Ozempic and Xultophy. Do not spend time on an application for Victoza.
- Generic liraglutide: 22 labelled products across 13 labelers including Teva, Hikma, Lupin, Biocon, Meitheal and Northstar Rx. This is the route with no application and no waiting.
- Federal cash price: TrumpRx lists "Liraglutide (Generic for Victoza)" at $133.58 and carries no listing for brand Victoza.
- Victoza is a diabetes medicine, not a weight-loss one. Part D covers GLP-1s for type 2 diabetes; the weight-management rules do not apply here.
- Charitable grants: TotalAssist lists Victoza 2-Pak and 3-Pak AND generic liraglutide on its Type 2 diabetes funds — both closed ($1,500 guaranteed / $2,000 maximum). HealthWell's Type 2 Diabetes fund was closed. Good Days has no diabetes fund.
- Not a Medicare-negotiated drug for 2026, 2027 or 2028 — though Ozempic, Rybelsus, Wegovy and Trulicity are.
1 of the 5 programs we checked for Victoza was accepting applications when verified in August 2026.
About Victoza (liraglutide)
Victoza is a once-daily injected GLP-1 medicine for type 2 diabetes. It is worth being clear about two things straight away: it is a diabetes medicine rather than a weight-loss one, and unlike Novo Nordisk's other diabetes products it has no manufacturer patient assistance program — because liraglutide is now widely available as a generic.
Approved uses
- Improving blood sugar control in adults and children aged 10 and over with type 2 diabetes, alongside diet and exercise — confirm the details that apply to your prescription with your prescriber
Manufacturer: Novo Nordisk
Why Victoza can be expensive on Medicare
Brand Victoza sits on a brand tier in most Part D plans. But the cost picture here has changed more than for any other medication in this batch: liraglutide is comprehensively generic, with 22 labelled products from 13 different labelers on DailyMed, and the federal TrumpRx site prices generic liraglutide at $133.58 while carrying no listing for the brand at all. That competition is also why Novo Nordisk no longer supports the brand through its patient assistance program.
Medicare coverage context
Victoza is an injection you give yourself, so Medicare covers it under Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan — and it is covered on the ordinary basis, because its indication is type 2 diabetes. That distinction matters: Part D covers GLP-1 medicines for type 2 diabetes, and the separate rules that govern GLP-1s prescribed for weight management do not apply to Victoza. It is not a Medicare-negotiated drug: CMS's selected-drug file has no Victoza or liraglutide row for 2026, 2027 or 2028, which is unsurprising for a medicine that already has generic competition. Other GLP-1s are on those lists — Ozempic, Rybelsus and Wegovy for 2027, Trulicity for 2028 — so do not read across from them. Part D out-of-pocket costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026, and Extra Help lowers cost-sharing for people with limited income and resources.
Check typical Part D coverage · Estimate your drug costs · Compare Part D plans in Vernal
Victoza assistance options at a glance
Every program we checked, what kind of help it is, whether people with Medicare can use it, and its status when we verified it. A medication being listed by a program is not the same as the program accepting applications.
About the income limits below: Income limits can differ between assistance programs even when both describe their eligibility as the same percentage of the federal poverty level. The dollar limits shown here come from each program's own published income table, and each program decides which year's poverty guidelines that table is built from and when it takes effect. Treat the figures as belonging to the program they are listed under — they are not interchangeable, and only the program can tell you which table it is applying to your application today.
| Program | Type of help | People with Medicare | Status (August 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novo Nordisk Patient Assistance Program — Victoza not covered | Manufacturer patient assistance | not stated | No program found |
| Generic liraglutide (including the TrumpRx cash price) | Manufacturer self-pay pricing | may apply | Accepting applications |
| TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes funds | Charitable grant | may apply | Closed to new applicants |
| HealthWell Foundation — Type 2 Diabetes fund | Charitable grant | may apply | Closed to new applicants |
| Good Days — no applicable fund | Charitable grant | not stated | No program found |
| Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy) | Government program | may apply | Accepting applications |
Manufacturer programs from Novo Nordisk
A patient assistance program (free or low-cost drug by income) is not the same as a copay card (a commercial discount that usually excludes Medicare). Both are listed so you can see which one applies to you.
Manufacturer patient assistance
Novo Nordisk Patient Assistance Program — Victoza not covered
Novo Nordisk
Status: Victoza was not on the Novo Nordisk Patient Assistance Program available-products list on August 26, 2026. The program's own document (form NNIPAP_11_01012026) lists the insulins — NovoLog, NovoLog Mix 70/30, Fiasp, Novolin and Tresiba — plus Ozempic, Xultophy 100/3.6 and devices. Victoza appears nowhere on it. Novo Nordisk separately notes that "Some medicines will no longer be a part of the Patient Assistance Program for 2026", so this may be a removal rather than a permanent absence.
An honest negative, and the reason this page exists. Novo Nordisk runs a substantial free-medicine program that covers its insulins; Victoza is not part of it. If you have been told Novo Nordisk has a patient assistance program, that is true and does not help you here — ask about generic liraglutide instead.
If you have Medicare: Novo Nordisk's program does have a Medicare pathway — it is one of the few that requires you to have Medicare or no insurance rather than excluding Medicare — but that pathway is irrelevant to Victoza, because the program only supplies medicines on its list. It is worth knowing that Novo Nordisk has been narrowing this program on the GLP-1 side generally: it also states that "Medicare beneficiaries with prescription drug coverage will no longer be eligible to receive Ozempic through the Patient Assistance Program". So the direction of travel for Novo Nordisk GLP-1s and Medicare is away from free-drug support and toward the generic and the plan.
How to apply
Not applicable for Victoza. If Novo Nordisk adds it, it would appear on the available-products list cited here. Call 1-866-310-7549 if you want Novo Nordisk to confirm directly.
Manufacturer self-pay pricing
Generic liraglutide (including the TrumpRx cash price)
Multiple manufacturers; cash price listed by the federal TrumpRx site
Status: Widely available on August 26, 2026: DailyMed lists 22 labelled liraglutide products across 13 distinct labelers. The federal TrumpRx site prices "Liraglutide (Generic for Victoza)" at $133.58 and carries no listing for the brand.
The answer for most people reading this page. Thirteen labelers make generic liraglutide, the charitable funds list it alongside the brand, and there is nothing to apply for. Ask your prescriber and plan about it before spending time on anything else here.
If you have Medicare: A generic is not an assistance program and has no Medicare rule to satisfy — it is simply a lower-tier version of the same medicine, and it is available to anyone with a prescription. Generic liraglutide typically sits on a generic tier where brand Victoza sits on a brand tier, which for a Medicare beneficiary is usually a larger saving than any program on this page would deliver. If you would rather pay cash, the TrumpRx figure gives you a benchmark — but note that cash spending does not count toward your $2,100 Part D out-of-pocket cap, whereas a generic filled through your plan does.
What it can cover: The same medicine at a generic tier, or at a published cash price of $133.58 outside insurance.
Who may qualify
- A prescription written for or substitutable to generic liraglutide
- No income test, no application and no waiting
How to apply
Ask your prescriber to write for generic liraglutide, or ask your pharmacy whether it can substitute where state law allows. Ask your plan which liraglutide product is on its preferred tier.
Charitable grants for Victoza
TotalAssist lists Victoza 2-Pak, Victoza 3-Pak and generic liraglutide on its Type 2 diabetes fund and the health-equity version, each paying $1,500 guaranteed up to $2,000, and both were closed on August 26, 2026. HealthWell's Type 2 Diabetes fund was closed too, and Good Days runs no diabetes fund. But the charitable picture matters less for Victoza than for almost anything else in this batch, because the cost problem is usually solved at the pharmacy counter: thirteen labelers now make generic liraglutide, and the funds list the generic on exactly the same footing as the brand. Set an alert if you like, and in the meantime have the generic conversation with your prescriber.
Charitable grant
TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes funds
Patient Advocate Foundation · Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) · Type 2 diabetes health equity
Status: Both funds were closed to new applicants on August 26, 2026, each with a $1,500 guaranteed and $2,000 maximum award.
"Victoza 2-Pak" and "Victoza 3-Pak" are named on the Type 2 diabetes approved-medication list, and so is the plain generic "Liraglutide" — so the switch this page recommends would not cost you fund eligibility. Both funds were closed when we checked.
If you have Medicare: These funds require government-insured coverage — Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE — that covers your qualifying expenses. Medicare beneficiaries are eligible when a fund is open, and these funds do not exclude Extra Help enrollees.
What it can cover: When open: $1,500 guaranteed award and up to $2,000 maximum for medication copays, coinsurance, deductibles and health-insurance premiums. One grant per condition.
Who may qualify
- Confirmed type 2 diabetes diagnosis, in treatment, starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months
- Government-insured coverage (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your qualifying expenses
- Household income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index
- Confirmed diagnosis matching the fund, and in treatment (or starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months)
- Legal U.S. resident receiving treatment in the U.S. or a U.S. territory
- The health-equity fund additionally requires a home zip code in a designated social-vulnerability county
What the application asks for
- Contact information and Social Security number (or alien number)
- Annual household income (for pre-screening; proof of income due within 30 days of approval)
- Health insurance carrier, plan type, policy ID and group number; Medicare supplement or secondary insurance if you have one
- Copay or coinsurance amounts
- Your provider's name and contact information, diagnosis (exact date if within 6 months), prescribed medications and treatment plan
How to apply
Sign up for fund notifications (text, email or automated call) at totalassist.org/notify. When a fund opens: You (the patient) apply online — it takes about 15 minutes and you learn immediately whether you are approved — or call 866-512-3861, Monday–Friday 8:30am–5:30pm ET. Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis and treatment plan directly with your provider and verifies income automatically; you have 30 days after approval to provide proof of income.
Charitable grant
HealthWell Foundation — Type 2 Diabetes fund
HealthWell Foundation · Type 2 Diabetes
Status: Closed on August 26, 2026. HealthWell runs no GLP-1-specific or obesity fund.
One applicable fund, closed. Given how inexpensive generic liraglutide has become, a grant is likely to matter less for Victoza than for most medications on this site.
If you have Medicare: HealthWell accepts Medicare beneficiaries for the diseases it covers. Its Type 2 Diabetes fund was closed when we checked.
What it can cover: When open: copays, coinsurance, deductibles and health-insurance premiums for type 2 diabetes.
Who may qualify
- A confirmed type 2 diabetes diagnosis, verified by your prescriber
- Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
- Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
- Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
- Treatment in the United States
What the application asks for
- Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
- Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
- Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
- Treatment in the United States
How to apply
When a fund is open, apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature. When a fund is closed, sign up for that fund's real-time alerts — HealthWell says replenished funds reopen "as quickly as possible."
Charitable grant
Good Days — no applicable fund
Good Days
Status: Good Days' published disease list on August 26, 2026 contained 57 programs and none of them was diabetes.
An honest negative, checked so you do not spend time on a third foundation that has no fund for you.
If you have Medicare: Good Days accepts Medicare beneficiaries for the diseases it covers, but it covers no diagnosis that applies to Victoza.
How to apply
Not applicable today. The diseases-covered page shows every fund Good Days runs.
How to apply for Victoza assistance
The written steps are complete on their own; the video above will walk through the same process when it is published.
-
Step 1 — Find the applicable assistance program
For Victoza on Medicare in August 2026, the order is unusually short, because the manufacturer route does not exist:
- Ask your prescriber and plan about generic liraglutide — 22 labelled products from 13 labelers. This is the step that solves the problem for most people.
- Limited income and resources → Medicare Extra Help through Social Security.
- Type 2 diabetes → set alerts on the TotalAssist and HealthWell diabetes funds (all closed when checked).
- Cost still unmanageable → ask about a formulary exception, and compare Part D plans in the fall.
- Do not spend time on the Novo Nordisk patient assistance program — Victoza is not on its list.
-
Step 2 — Check whether applications are currently open
There is no manufacturer application to check for Victoza. What can change is fund status and the program list.
- Novo Nordisk PAP: the available-products PDF is the authoritative list — check whether Victoza has been added since this page was verified.
- TotalAssist: the Type 2 diabetes fund pages show "Open" or "Closed" and current award amounts.
- HealthWell: the disease-funds list shows the Type 2 Diabetes fund and its status.
-
Step 3 — Check eligibility
Only three things here have eligibility rules that could apply to you, and the most useful has none:
- Generic liraglutide: no eligibility rules at all — a prescribing and formulary question, which is what makes it the first thing to ask about.
- TotalAssist (when open): government insurance covering Victoza or liraglutide; income at or below 500% FPL adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index; a confirmed type 2 diabetes diagnosis.
- HealthWell (when open): insurance that covers part of the drug's cost, a prescriber-verified type 2 diabetes diagnosis, and treatment in the United States.
- Extra Help: income below about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a couple, and countable resources limited to $18,090 or $36,100 in 2026.
- Novo Nordisk PAP: not applicable, because Victoza is not a medication on the program.
-
Step 4 — Gather your information
Whichever route you take, these are what will be asked for:
- Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card, with policy ID and group number.
- Your type 2 diabetes diagnosis and its date. TotalAssist needs the exact date if it was within the past 6 months.
- Your Victoza pack size and daily dose — the 2-Pak and 3-Pak are listed separately on the fund lists.
- Household size and annual household income, plus proof.
-
Step 5 — Complete the application
Who fills out what:
- Generic switch: nothing to apply for — your prescriber writes it, or the pharmacy substitutes where state law allows.
- Extra Help: you (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone on 1-800-772-1213, or at an office. There is never a fee.
- TotalAssist (when open): you apply online in about 15 minutes or by phone on 866-512-3861.
- HealthWell (when open): apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature.
- Formulary exception: your prescriber's office submits it to your plan.
-
Step 6 — Submit and wait for a determination
What to expect:
- Extra Help: Social Security notifies you by mail; your Part D plan then applies the lower copays.
- TotalAssist (when open): an immediate online decision, with proof of income due within 30 days of approval.
- Formulary exception: plans generally must respond within a set timeframe; your prescriber's office can tell you what to expect.
-
Step 7 — If the program is closed or you don't qualify
With no manufacturer program in the picture, this step is where the money is:
- Ask specifically about generic liraglutide, and ask your plan which labeler's product it prefers — with 13 on the market, plans differ.
- Compare the $133.58 TrumpRx cash price against your plan's cost-sharing, remembering that cash spending does not count toward your Part D out-of-pocket cap.
- If your plan does not cover liraglutide well, ask your prescriber's office about a formulary exception.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different GLP-1 suits your situation — but note that Ozempic, Rybelsus, Wegovy and Trulicity all have their own quite different cost pictures, and Novo Nordisk has narrowed Medicare access to Ozempic through its program.
- Apply for Extra Help even if you assume you earn too much; the limits are higher than most people expect.
- Call Vernal Medicare — we will work through every route above with you, free.
What you'll need
Only items the programs above actually ask for. Gather these before you start.
- Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card — plan name, member ID and group number
- Prescription details — medication name, strength and dose; prescriber name, office phone and address
- Diagnosis and date of diagnosis — TotalAssist needs the exact date if diagnosed within the past 6 months
- Household size and annual household income — and proof — tax return, Social Security or pension statements, or pay stubs
- Your Victoza pack size and daily dose — the 2-Pak and 3-Pak are listed separately on the charitable fund lists
- Confirmation that the prescription is for type 2 diabetes — Victoza is a diabetes medicine — the weight-management GLP-1 rules do not apply to it
Could Medicare Extra Help reduce your Victoza costs?
Extra Help is not a grant for Victoza. It is a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription — so it is worth checking even when a charitable fund is closed, because it does not depend on fund balances.
Extra Help does the ordinary thing here, and there is no manufacturer program to weigh it against — so if your income and resources are limited, simply apply. With full Extra Help a covered brand-name drug costs about $12.65 in 2026 and a generic costs less still, which stacks usefully onto the generic-tier saving this page recommends.
In 2026, people with full Extra Help generally pay no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug. Income must be below about $23,940 a year for one person ($32,460 for a couple) and countable resources under $18,090 ($36,100 for a couple). Apply free through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person — and never pay anyone to apply for you.
Extra Help explained (Utah) · Check if you might qualify · Medicare Savings Programs · All help paying for Medicare
Government program
Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy)
Medicare / Social Security Administration
Status: Year-round federal program (figures for 2026)
Not a grant for one drug — a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription.
If you have Medicare: For people with Medicare Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan who have limited income and resources.
What it can cover: Part D premium and deductible (often to $0) and reduced copays — generally no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug in 2026 with full Extra Help.
Who may qualify
- Income below 150% of the federal poverty level — about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a married couple in 2026.
- Countable resources (savings, investments — not your home or car) limited to $18,090 for an individual or $36,100 for a married couple living together in 2026 (Medicare.gov figures, which include a burial-expense allowance).
- Automatic if you have Medicaid, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or a Medicare Savings Program.
What the application asks for
- Social Security number and Medicare number
- Income (Social Security, pensions, wages) for you and a spouse you live with
- Value of savings, investments and other countable resources
How to apply
You (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone, or at a Social Security office. There is never a fee to apply.
Key terms on this page
- Patient assistance program (PAP)
- A manufacturer program that provides its medication free or at low cost to people who meet income and insurance rules. Many PAPs accept Medicare Part D enrollees; each sets its own criteria.
- Copay card / savings card
- A manufacturer discount for commercially insured patients. Federal anti-kickback rules mean these cards generally cannot be used with Medicare, Medicaid or other government insurance.
- Charitable copay grant
- Money from a nonprofit foundation (for example HealthWell or Patient Advocate Foundation) that pays eligible copays or coinsurance for a specific diagnosis. A drug can be listed while the fund is closed to new applicants.
- Federal poverty level (FPL)
- A federal income measure that assistance programs use as a yardstick — "300% of FPL", "500% of FPL". The percentage is a rule, but the dollar figure behind it comes from a table each program publishes itself, built on a chosen year of the HHS poverty guidelines. Two programs can quote the same percentage in the same year and still list different dollar limits; compare each program against its own table, not against another program.
- Medicare Extra Help
- The Part D Low-Income Subsidy: a Medicare program that lowers or eliminates Part D premiums, deductibles and copays for beneficiaries with limited income and resources. You apply through Social Security.
- Maximum Fair Price (MFP)
- The price Medicare negotiated for a selected drug under the Medicare Drug Price Negotiation Program. It applies to Part D plans, not to the pharmacy cash price, and it lowers what plans and enrollees pay for that drug.
Related medication assistance guides
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Medicare cover Victoza?
Is there a Victoza patient assistance program for people on Medicare?
Is there a generic for Victoza?
Is Victoza a weight-loss drug?
Is Victoza part of Medicare drug price negotiation?
Is there a charitable grant for Victoza right now?
Sources
- Victoza prescribing information (DailyMed) — U.S. National Library of Medicine (2026-08-26)
- DailyMed label index — liraglutide — U.S. National Library of Medicine (2026-08-26)
- Novo Nordisk Patient Assistance Program — available products (form NNIPAP_11_01012026) — Novo Nordisk (2026-08-26)
- Novo Nordisk Patient Assistance Program — eligibility and 2026 changes — Novo Nordisk (2026-08-26)
- TrumpRx — liraglutide listing — U.S. federal government (2026-08-26)
- TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) fund — Patient Advocate Foundation (2026-08-26)
- TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) health equity fund — Patient Advocate Foundation (2026-08-26)
- Get notified when a fund opens — TotalAssist — Patient Advocate Foundation (2026-08-26)
- TotalAssist eligibility requirements — Patient Advocate Foundation (2026-08-26)
- HealthWell disease funds (full list) — HealthWell Foundation (2026-08-26)
- HealthWell disease funds (status list) — HealthWell Foundation (2026-08-26)
- Good Days — diseases covered — Good Days (2026-08-26)
- Selected Drug List and Negotiated Prices (Maximum Fair Prices) data file — CMS (2026-08-26)
- Your Medicare in 2026: what you need to know — Medicare.gov (2026-08-26)
- Help with drug costs (Extra Help) — Medicare.gov (2026-08-26)
- Special Advisory Bulletin: Pharmaceutical Manufacturer Copayment Coupons — HHS Office of Inspector General (2026-08-26)
Having trouble figuring out your prescription costs?
If you live in Vernal or the Uintah Basin, Vernal Medicare can help you understand your Medicare prescription coverage and where to look for Victoza assistance — free, no pressure. We don't award grants or decide eligibility; the programs above do. We help you find and apply to the right ones.