COPD & Asthma
Daliresp Assistance Programs & Grants in Utah
Assistance information last verified: August 2026
Not from the manufacturer — and for once that barely matters. AstraZeneca has no program covering Daliresp, but roflumilast is available as a generic from 18 different labelers, priced at $13.48 on the federal TrumpRx site, and the charitable funds list the generic alongside the brand. Ask about generic roflumilast first; everything else on this page is secondary to that. Financial assistance may be available through charitable foundations, manufacturer programs, Medicare's Extra Help program, or other assistance resources. Availability and eligibility change frequently — the information on this page was verified in August 2026.
Can I get help paying for Daliresp?
Not from the manufacturer — and for once that barely matters. AstraZeneca has no program covering Daliresp, but roflumilast is available as a generic from 18 different labelers, priced at $13.48 on the federal TrumpRx site, and the charitable funds list the generic alongside the brand. Ask about generic roflumilast first; everything else on this page is secondary to that.
- AZ&Me Prescription Savings Program: Daliresp is NOT on the included-medications list (August 26, 2026), so the program's Medicare pathway cannot be used for it.
- AstraZeneca Direct: does not offer Daliresp either — its list is Airsupra, Baxfendy, Bevespi Aerosphere, Farxiga, FluMist, Lokelma and Xigduo XR.
- Generic roflumilast: 20 labelled products across 18 labelers, and $13.48 cash on the federal TrumpRx site. This is the route with no application and no waiting.
- Charitable grants: TotalAssist's COPD fund and COPD health equity fund list both "Daliresp (Roflumilast)" and the generic "Roflumilast", and both funds were closed ($1,200 guaranteed / $3,500 maximum). HealthWell's COPD – Medicare Access fund was closed. Good Days has no COPD fund.
- Medicare: not a negotiated-price drug for 2026, 2027 or 2028; Part D costs capped at $2,100 in 2026; Extra Help can cut a covered brand copay to about $12.65.
None of the 5 programs we checked for Daliresp were accepting new applications when verified in August 2026 — see the alternatives below.
About Daliresp (roflumilast)
Daliresp is a once-daily tablet for severe COPD — not an inhaler, and not a substitute for one. It works by reducing inflammation in the lungs to cut the number of flare-ups, and its label says plainly that it "is not a bronchodilator and is not indicated for the relief of acute bronchospasm". It is added to inhaler treatment rather than replacing it.
Approved uses
- Reducing the risk of COPD exacerbations (flare-ups) in adults with severe COPD associated with chronic bronchitis and a history of exacerbations
Manufacturer: AstraZeneca
Why Daliresp can be expensive on Medicare
Brand Daliresp sits on a brand tier in most Part D plans, and AstraZeneca offers a Medicare beneficiary no route to it at all — Daliresp is on neither the AZ&Me patient assistance list nor AstraZeneca Direct. What changes the arithmetic completely is that roflumilast is thoroughly generic: DailyMed lists 20 labelled products across 18 different labelers, and the federal TrumpRx site prices generic roflumilast at $13.48. For most people on Medicare the generic is not a fallback here — it is the answer.
Medicare coverage context
Daliresp is a tablet you take yourself, so Medicare covers it under Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan, usually with brand Daliresp on a brand tier and generic roflumilast on a much lower generic tier. It is not a Medicare-negotiated drug: CMS's selected-drug and Maximum Fair Price file has no Daliresp or roflumilast row for 2026, 2027 or 2028 — unsurprising for a medicine that already has generic competition, since the program selects drugs without it. Part D out-of-pocket costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026, Extra Help lowers cost-sharing for people with limited income and resources, and the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan can spread what you owe across the year.
Check typical Part D coverage · Estimate your drug costs · Compare Part D plans in Vernal
Daliresp assistance options at a glance
Every program we checked, what kind of help it is, whether people with Medicare can use it, and its status when we verified it. A medication being listed by a program is not the same as the program accepting applications.
About the income limits below: Income limits can differ between assistance programs even when both describe their eligibility as the same percentage of the federal poverty level. The dollar limits shown here come from each program's own published income table, and each program decides which year's poverty guidelines that table is built from and when it takes effect. Treat the figures as belonging to the program they are listed under — they are not interchangeable, and only the program can tell you which table it is applying to your application today.
| Program | Type of help | People with Medicare | Status (August 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| AZ&Me Prescription Savings Program — Daliresp not covered | Manufacturer patient assistance | not stated | No program found |
| AstraZeneca Direct (cash-pay) — Daliresp not offered | Manufacturer self-pay pricing | not stated | No program found |
| TotalAssist — COPD funds | Charitable grant | may apply | Closed to new applicants |
| HealthWell Foundation — COPD – Medicare Access fund | Charitable grant | may apply | Closed to new applicants |
| Good Days — no applicable fund | Charitable grant | not stated | No program found |
| Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy) | Government program | may apply | Accepting applications |
Manufacturer programs from AstraZeneca
A patient assistance program (free or low-cost drug by income) is not the same as a copay card (a commercial discount that usually excludes Medicare). Both are listed so you can see which one applies to you.
Manufacturer patient assistance
AZ&Me Prescription Savings Program — Daliresp not covered
AstraZeneca
Status: Daliresp was not on the AZ&Me medication list on August 26, 2026. The program's own included-medications page carries a downloadable application for each covered product — Airsupra, Baxfendy, Bevespi, Breztri, Calquence, Etcamah, Fasenra, Imfinzi, Imjudo, Lokelma, Lynparza, Saphnelo, Tagrisso, Truqap and Wainua — and Daliresp is in none of them.
An honest negative, and the third time this project has recorded it for an AstraZeneca product — Symbicort and Brilinta were the others. AstraZeneca runs a substantial free-medicine program; Daliresp is not in it. Do not spend time on an AZ&Me application for this medication.
If you have Medicare: AZ&Me does have a Medicare pathway — it accepts beneficiaries who are not eligible for or enrolled in Extra Help, with income at or below 300% of the federal poverty level, and it is one of the few programs that explicitly permits "government insurance other than Medicare" to be absent rather than present. None of that reaches Daliresp, because the program's first requirement is being treated with a medication AZ&Me actually carries.
How to apply
Not applicable for Daliresp. If AstraZeneca adds it, it would appear on the included-medications page cited here. Call 1-800-292-6363 (Monday–Friday, 9am–6pm ET) if you want AstraZeneca to confirm directly.
Manufacturer self-pay pricing
AstraZeneca Direct (cash-pay) — Daliresp not offered
AstraZeneca (dispensed by ASPN Pharmacies)
Status: On August 26, 2026 AstraZeneca Direct offered Airsupra, Baxfendy, Bevespi Aerosphere, Farxiga, FluMist, Lokelma and Xigduo XR. Daliresp is not on the list.
An honest negative with a ready replacement: there is no AstraZeneca cash price for Daliresp, but there is a published federal cash price for generic roflumilast — $13.48 on TrumpRx — which is the comparison that actually helps.
If you have Medicare: Not applicable — Daliresp is not part of the program, so it states no Medicare rule.
How to apply
Not applicable. If AstraZeneca adds Daliresp it would appear on the AstraZeneca Direct product list cited here.
Charitable grants for Daliresp
The charitable picture for Daliresp matters less than it does for almost anything else on this site, and that is good news rather than bad. TotalAssist lists both the brand and the generic "Roflumilast" on its COPD fund and COPD health equity fund, each paying $1,200 guaranteed up to $3,500, and both were closed on August 26, 2026. HealthWell's COPD – Medicare Access fund was closed as well, and Good Days runs no COPD fund. But with 18 different labelers making generic roflumilast and a published federal cash price of $13.48, the cost problem this medication presents is usually solved at the pharmacy counter rather than by a grant. Set a TotalAssist alert if you like, and in the meantime ask your prescriber about the generic.
Charitable grant
TotalAssist — COPD funds
Patient Advocate Foundation · Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) · COPD health equity
Status: Both COPD funds were closed to new applicants on August 26, 2026, each with a $1,200 guaranteed and $3,500 maximum award. TotalAssist has no waitlist, so the notification sign-up is what gets you in.
Both "Daliresp (Roflumilast)" and the plain generic "Roflumilast" are named on the COPD approved-medication list, so switching to the generic — which is the main advice on this page — would not cost you fund eligibility. Both funds were closed when we checked.
If you have Medicare: These funds require government-insured coverage — Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE — that covers your qualifying expenses. Medicare beneficiaries are eligible when a fund is open.
What it can cover: When open: $1,200 guaranteed award and up to $3,500 maximum for medication copays, coinsurance, deductibles and health-insurance premiums. One grant per condition.
Who may qualify
- Confirmed COPD diagnosis, in treatment, starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months
- Government-insured coverage (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your qualifying expenses
- Household income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index
- Confirmed diagnosis matching the fund, and in treatment (or starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months)
- Legal U.S. resident receiving treatment in the U.S. or a U.S. territory
- The health-equity fund additionally requires a home zip code in a designated social-vulnerability county
What the application asks for
- Contact information and Social Security number (or alien number)
- Annual household income (for pre-screening; proof of income due within 30 days of approval)
- Health insurance carrier, plan type, policy ID and group number; Medicare supplement or secondary insurance if you have one
- Copay or coinsurance amounts
- Your provider's name and contact information, diagnosis (exact date if within 6 months), prescribed medications and treatment plan
How to apply
Sign up for fund notifications (text, email or automated call) at totalassist.org/notify. When a fund opens: You (the patient) apply online — it takes about 15 minutes and you learn immediately whether you are approved — or call 866-512-3861, Monday–Friday 8:30am–5:30pm ET. Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis and treatment plan directly with your provider and verifies income automatically; you have 30 days after approval to provide proof of income.
Charitable grant
HealthWell Foundation — COPD – Medicare Access fund
HealthWell Foundation · Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease – Medicare Access
Status: Closed on August 26, 2026. The only open lung fund on HealthWell's published list was Bronchiectasis, a different diagnosis.
HealthWell runs a COPD fund designed for Medicare beneficiaries; it was closed when we checked. Given that the generic costs so little, a grant is likely to matter less here than for most medications on this site.
If you have Medicare: A "Medicare Access" fund — built specifically for people with Medicare — which makes it worth an alert even while closed.
What it can cover: When open: copays, coinsurance, deductibles and health-insurance premiums for COPD.
Who may qualify
- A confirmed COPD diagnosis, verified by your prescriber
- Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
- Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
- Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
- Treatment in the United States
What the application asks for
- Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
- Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
- Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
- Treatment in the United States
How to apply
When a fund is open, apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature. When a fund is closed, sign up for that fund's real-time alerts — HealthWell says replenished funds reopen "as quickly as possible."
Charitable grant
Good Days — no applicable fund
Good Days
Status: Good Days' published disease list on August 26, 2026 contained 57 programs and none of them was COPD.
An honest negative, checked so you do not spend time on a third foundation that has no fund for you.
If you have Medicare: Good Days accepts Medicare beneficiaries for the diseases it covers, but it covers no diagnosis that applies to Daliresp.
How to apply
Not applicable today. The diseases-covered page shows every fund Good Days runs.
How to apply for Daliresp assistance
The written steps are complete on their own; the video above will walk through the same process when it is published.
-
Step 1 — Find the applicable assistance program
For Daliresp on Medicare in August 2026, the honest order puts the manufacturer last because there is nothing there:
- Ask your prescriber and plan about generic roflumilast — 20 labelled products from 18 labelers. This is the step that solves the problem for most people.
- Limited income and resources → Medicare Extra Help through Social Security.
- COPD diagnosis → set alerts on the TotalAssist and HealthWell COPD funds (all closed when checked).
- Cost still unmanageable → ask about a formulary exception, and compare Part D plans in the fall.
- Do not spend time on AZ&Me — Daliresp is not on its list.
-
Step 2 — Check whether applications are currently open
There is no manufacturer application to check for Daliresp. What can change is fund status.
- AZ&Me: the included-medications page is the authoritative list — check whether Daliresp has been added since this page was verified.
- TotalAssist: the COPD and COPD health equity fund pages show "Open" or "Closed" and the current award amounts.
- HealthWell: worth re-checking the disease-funds list occasionally, since HealthWell opens new funds as well as reopening old ones.
-
Step 3 — Check eligibility
Only two things here have eligibility rules that could apply to you, and one of them is not a program at all:
- Generic roflumilast: no eligibility rules — it is a prescribing and formulary question, which is what makes it the first thing to ask about.
- TotalAssist (when open): government insurance covering Daliresp or roflumilast; income at or below 500% FPL adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index; a confirmed COPD diagnosis in treatment.
- HealthWell (when open): insurance that covers part of the drug's cost, a prescriber-verified COPD diagnosis, and treatment in the United States.
- Extra Help: income below about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a couple, and countable resources limited to $18,090 or $36,100 in 2026.
- AZ&Me: not applicable, because Daliresp is not a medication on the program.
-
Step 4 — Gather your information
Whichever route you take, these are what will be asked for:
- Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card, with policy ID and group number.
- Your COPD diagnosis and its date, and confirmation that it is severe COPD with chronic bronchitis and a history of flare-ups — that is the indication on the label.
- Your Daliresp strength — 250 mcg or 500 mcg. The 250 mcg tablet is normally a four-week starting dose rather than the maintenance dose.
- Household size and annual household income, plus proof.
-
Step 5 — Complete the application
Who fills out what:
- Generic switch: nothing to apply for — your prescriber writes it, or the pharmacy substitutes where state law allows.
- Extra Help: you (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone on 1-800-772-1213, or at an office. There is never a fee.
- TotalAssist (when open): you apply online in about 15 minutes or by phone on 866-512-3861.
- HealthWell (when open): apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature.
- Formulary exception: your prescriber's office submits it to your plan.
-
Step 6 — Submit and wait for a determination
What to expect:
- Extra Help: Social Security notifies you by mail; your Part D plan then applies the lower copays.
- TotalAssist (when open): an immediate online decision, with proof of income due within 30 days of approval.
- Formulary exception: plans generally must respond within a set timeframe; your prescriber's office can tell you what to expect.
-
Step 7 — If the program is closed or you don't qualify
With no manufacturer program in the picture, this step is where the money is:
- Ask specifically about generic roflumilast. It is the same medicine at a generic tier, it is on the same TotalAssist fund lists as the brand, and the federal TrumpRx site prices it at $13.48.
- If your plan does not cover roflumilast well, ask your prescriber's office about a formulary exception.
- Remember what Daliresp is for. It reduces flare-ups over time and does nothing for sudden breathlessness — so if cost is forcing a choice between this and a rescue inhaler, that is a conversation for your prescriber, not a budgeting decision.
- Apply for Extra Help even if you assume you earn too much; the limits are higher than most people expect.
- Compare Part D plans in the fall — tier placement for roflumilast differs from plan to plan.
- Call Vernal Medicare — we will work through every route above with you, free.
What you'll need
Only items the programs above actually ask for. Gather these before you start.
- Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card — plan name, member ID and group number
- Prescription details — medication name, strength and dose; prescriber name, office phone and address
- Diagnosis and date of diagnosis — TotalAssist needs the exact date if diagnosed within the past 6 months
- Household size and annual household income — and proof — tax return, Social Security or pension statements, or pay stubs
- Your Daliresp strength — 250 mcg or 500 mcg — the 250 mcg tablet is usually a starting dose for the first four weeks
- Confirmation that your COPD is severe and associated with chronic bronchitis — that is the label indication, and prior authorisation often turns on it
Could Medicare Extra Help reduce your Daliresp costs?
Extra Help is not a grant for Daliresp. It is a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription — so it is worth checking even when a charitable fund is closed, because it does not depend on fund balances.
Extra Help does the ordinary thing here rather than anything special: it lowers cost-sharing on every covered drug you take. There is no AstraZeneca program to weigh it against for Daliresp, so there is nothing to choose between — if your income and resources are limited, apply. With full Extra Help a covered brand-name drug costs about $12.65 in 2026, and a generic costs less still, which for roflumilast is a small saving stacked onto an already small one.
In 2026, people with full Extra Help generally pay no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug. Income must be below about $23,940 a year for one person ($32,460 for a couple) and countable resources under $18,090 ($36,100 for a couple). Apply free through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person — and never pay anyone to apply for you.
Extra Help explained (Utah) · Check if you might qualify · Medicare Savings Programs · All help paying for Medicare
Government program
Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy)
Medicare / Social Security Administration
Status: Year-round federal program (figures for 2026)
Not a grant for one drug — a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription.
If you have Medicare: For people with Medicare Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan who have limited income and resources.
What it can cover: Part D premium and deductible (often to $0) and reduced copays — generally no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug in 2026 with full Extra Help.
Who may qualify
- Income below 150% of the federal poverty level — about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a married couple in 2026.
- Countable resources (savings, investments — not your home or car) limited to $18,090 for an individual or $36,100 for a married couple living together in 2026 (Medicare.gov figures, which include a burial-expense allowance).
- Automatic if you have Medicaid, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or a Medicare Savings Program.
What the application asks for
- Social Security number and Medicare number
- Income (Social Security, pensions, wages) for you and a spouse you live with
- Value of savings, investments and other countable resources
How to apply
You (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone, or at a Social Security office. There is never a fee to apply.
Key terms on this page
- Patient assistance program (PAP)
- A manufacturer program that provides its medication free or at low cost to people who meet income and insurance rules. Many PAPs accept Medicare Part D enrollees; each sets its own criteria.
- Copay card / savings card
- A manufacturer discount for commercially insured patients. Federal anti-kickback rules mean these cards generally cannot be used with Medicare, Medicaid or other government insurance.
- Charitable copay grant
- Money from a nonprofit foundation (for example HealthWell or Patient Advocate Foundation) that pays eligible copays or coinsurance for a specific diagnosis. A drug can be listed while the fund is closed to new applicants.
- Federal poverty level (FPL)
- A federal income measure that assistance programs use as a yardstick — "300% of FPL", "500% of FPL". The percentage is a rule, but the dollar figure behind it comes from a table each program publishes itself, built on a chosen year of the HHS poverty guidelines. Two programs can quote the same percentage in the same year and still list different dollar limits; compare each program against its own table, not against another program.
- Medicare Extra Help
- The Part D Low-Income Subsidy: a Medicare program that lowers or eliminates Part D premiums, deductibles and copays for beneficiaries with limited income and resources. You apply through Social Security.
- Maximum Fair Price (MFP)
- The price Medicare negotiated for a selected drug under the Medicare Drug Price Negotiation Program. It applies to Part D plans, not to the pharmacy cash price, and it lowers what plans and enrollees pay for that drug.
Related medication assistance guides
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Medicare cover Daliresp?
Is there a Daliresp patient assistance program for people on Medicare?
Is there a generic for Daliresp?
Is Daliresp an inhaler, or does it replace one?
Is Daliresp part of Medicare drug price negotiation?
Is there a charitable grant for Daliresp right now?
Sources
- Daliresp prescribing information (DailyMed) — U.S. National Library of Medicine (2026-08-26)
- DailyMed label index — roflumilast — U.S. National Library of Medicine (2026-08-26)
- AZ&Me — medications available through the program — AstraZeneca (2026-08-26)
- AZ&Me eligibility requirements and income guidelines — AstraZeneca (2026-08-26)
- AstraZeneca Direct — self-pay medication list — AstraZeneca (dispensed by ASPN Pharmacies) (2026-08-26)
- TrumpRx — roflumilast listing — U.S. federal government (2026-08-26)
- TotalAssist — Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) fund — Patient Advocate Foundation (2026-08-26)
- TotalAssist — COPD health equity fund — Patient Advocate Foundation (2026-08-26)
- Get notified when a fund opens — TotalAssist — Patient Advocate Foundation (2026-08-26)
- TotalAssist eligibility requirements — Patient Advocate Foundation (2026-08-26)
- HealthWell disease funds (full list) — HealthWell Foundation (2026-08-26)
- HealthWell disease funds (status list) — HealthWell Foundation (2026-08-26)
- Good Days — diseases covered — Good Days (2026-08-26)
- Selected Drug List and Negotiated Prices (Maximum Fair Prices) data file — CMS (2026-08-26)
- Your Medicare in 2026: what you need to know — Medicare.gov (2026-08-26)
- Help with drug costs (Extra Help) — Medicare.gov (2026-08-26)
- Special Advisory Bulletin: Pharmaceutical Manufacturer Copayment Coupons — HHS Office of Inspector General (2026-08-26)
Having trouble figuring out your prescription costs?
If you live in Vernal or the Uintah Basin, Vernal Medicare can help you understand your Medicare prescription coverage and where to look for Daliresp assistance — free, no pressure. We don't award grants or decide eligibility; the programs above do. We help you find and apply to the right ones.