📧 [email protected] 📞 435-219-5120 (TTY: 711) Search 🌐 EnglishEspañol

Diabetes & Blood Sugar

Toujeo Assistance Programs & Grants in Utah

Assistance information last verified: August 2026

Yes — Sanofi Patient Connection covers Toujeo for people at or below 400% of the federal poverty level, though it publishes no Medicare rule. Sanofi also sells Toujeo for $35 cash outside insurance, and the federal TrumpRx site shows that price against a former $428.57. The catch is the same one that applies to all Sanofi insulins: cash spending does not count toward your Part D out-of-pocket cap. Both diabetes charitable funds were closed. Financial assistance may be available through charitable foundations, manufacturer programs, Medicare's Extra Help program, or other assistance resources. Availability and eligibility change frequently — the information on this page was verified in August 2026.

How to Apply for Toujeo Assistance Why 300 units/mL changes every price comparison, when Sanofi's $35 cash price beats your Part D plan and when it does not, and what the unbranded insulin glargine U-300 offers.

Can I get help paying for Toujeo?

Yes — Sanofi Patient Connection covers Toujeo for people at or below 400% of the federal poverty level, though it publishes no Medicare rule. Sanofi also sells Toujeo for $35 cash outside insurance, and the federal TrumpRx site shows that price against a former $428.57. The catch is the same one that applies to all Sanofi insulins: cash spending does not count toward your Part D out-of-pocket cap. Both diabetes charitable funds were closed.

  • Sanofi Patient Connection: Toujeo is on its medication list, as is a separate unbranded Insulin Glargine U-300. Income at or below 400% FPL — $63,840 for one person in 2026. NO Medicare rule is published, so call and ask.
  • Insulins Valyou Savings Program: $35 per 30-day supply for people uninsured or not using their insurance. TrumpRx lists Toujeo at $35.00, "was $428.57, 92% off".
  • The trade-off: Sanofi states you "may not seek to have your out-of-pocket costs... count toward your deductible, true-out-of-pocket (TrOOP), maximum out-of-pocket (MOOP), or any other out-of-pocket caps." Paying cash makes no progress toward the $2,100 Part D cap.
  • Sanofi Insulins Co-pay Savings Program: commercial insurance only — excluded under Medicare, Medicaid, VA, DOD and TRICARE.
  • Concentration matters: Toujeo is 300 units/mL, Lantus is 100 units/mL. Compare cost per unit, not cost per pen.
  • Charitable grants: TotalAssist lists Toujeo Solostar and Toujeo Max Solostar on its Type 2 diabetes funds — both closed ($1,500 guaranteed / $2,000 maximum). HealthWell's Type 2 Diabetes fund was closed. Good Days has no diabetes fund.

3 of the 6 programs we checked for Toujeo were accepting applications when verified in August 2026.

About Toujeo (insulin glargine 300 units/mL)

Toujeo is Sanofi's concentrated long-acting insulin — the same molecule as Lantus, insulin glargine, but at 300 units per millilitre instead of 100. A given dose therefore takes up a third of the volume, which is why a Toujeo pen holds more units than a Lantus pen of the same size. If you are comparing prices between the two, that concentration difference is the thing that makes a straight per-pen comparison misleading.

Approved uses

  • Improving blood sugar control in adults with type 1 or type 2 diabetes
  • Improving blood sugar control in children aged 6 years and older with diabetes — confirm the age range that applies to your prescription with your prescriber

Manufacturer: Sanofi

Why Toujeo can be expensive on Medicare

Insulin is a lifelong daily expense, so small monthly differences compound over years. For Toujeo specifically, two published figures set the boundaries. The federal TrumpRx site lists Toujeo at $35.00 against a former price of $428.57 — a 92% reduction, and the clearest illustration on this site of how far insulin list prices have moved. And an unbranded insulin glargine at the same 300 units/mL strength is now labelled on DailyMed, which gives you something to compare Toujeo against at equal concentration rather than against a 100 units/mL product.

Medicare coverage context

Toujeo is covered under Medicare Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan. Under federal law a covered insulin costs no more than $35 for a month's supply under a Medicare drug plan, with no deductible applied — a rule that applies to insulins generally rather than to Toujeo specifically; our <a href="/insulin-cost-medicare-vernal.html">insulin cost guide</a> covers how it works across products. What is specific to Toujeo: it is not a Medicare-negotiated drug (CMS's selected-drug file has no Toujeo, Lantus or glargine row for 2026, 2027 or 2028), and because it is a concentrated product your plan may treat it differently from 100 units/mL glargine on its formulary — so check the tier for the exact product you are prescribed, not for "insulin glargine" generally. Part D out-of-pocket costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026.

Toujeo assistance options at a glance

Every program we checked, what kind of help it is, whether people with Medicare can use it, and its status when we verified it. A medication being listed by a program is not the same as the program accepting applications.

About the income limits below: Income limits can differ between assistance programs even when both describe their eligibility as the same percentage of the federal poverty level. The dollar limits shown here come from each program's own published income table, and each program decides which year's poverty guidelines that table is built from and when it takes effect. Treat the figures as belonging to the program they are listed under — they are not interchangeable, and only the program can tell you which table it is applying to your application today.

Toujeo assistance programs compared
ProgramType of helpPeople with MedicareStatus (August 2026)
Sanofi Patient Connection Manufacturer patient assistance not stated Accepting applications
Insulins Valyou Savings Program (cash price) Manufacturer self-pay pricing with conditions Accepting applications
Sanofi Insulins Co-pay Savings Program Commercial copay / savings card not eligible Accepting applications
TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes funds Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
HealthWell Foundation — Type 2 Diabetes fund Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
Good Days — no applicable fund Charitable grant not stated No program found
Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy) Government program may apply Accepting applications

Manufacturer programs from Sanofi

A patient assistance program (free or low-cost drug by income) is not the same as a copay card (a commercial discount that usually excludes Medicare). Both are listed so you can see which one applies to you.

Manufacturer patient assistance

Sanofi Patient Connection

Sanofi

Accepting applications Medicare: not stated

Status: Accepting applications on August 26, 2026. Toujeo is named on the program's published medications-available list, and the unbranded Insulin Glargine U-300 is listed separately — so both the brand and its unbranded equivalent are covered.

Sanofi's patient assistance program covers Toujeo and publishes a clear income test but no Medicare rule. The second question above is worth asking precisely because Toujeo is a concentrated product that some formularies treat differently from ordinary glargine.

If you have Medicare: Sanofi Patient Connection publishes three eligibility criteria — US residency, annual household income at or below 400% of the federal poverty level, and, for commercially insured patients, having "no insurance coverage or access to the prescribed product" — and none of them mentions Medicare. The program describes itself as serving uninsured or functionally uninsured patients. That wording could include a Medicare beneficiary whose plan does not cover Toujeo, but Sanofi does not say so, and this page will not assume it. Call 1-888-847-4877 and ask two things: whether Medicare Part D enrollees may apply, and whether being prescribed Toujeo when your plan prefers a different glargine counts as lacking "access to the prescribed product".

What it can cover: Sanofi medications, including Toujeo and the unbranded Insulin Glargine U-300, for approved patients meeting the income and insurance criteria.

Who may qualify

  • Resident of the U.S. or U.S. Territories
  • Annual household income at or below 400% of the current federal poverty level
  • 2026 income limits, 48 contiguous states and DC: $63,840 for one person, $86,560 for two, $109,280 for three, $132,000 for four, $154,720 for five, $177,440 for six, adding $5,680 per additional person
  • Separate, higher income tables apply in Alaska and Hawaii
  • For commercially insured patients: no insurance coverage or access to the prescribed product
  • Medicare rule: NOT STATED on the program's published eligibility pages

What the application asks for

  • Proof of annual household income
  • Your insurance details
  • A prescription for Toujeo and your prescriber's information — Sanofi's applications are state-specific

How to apply

Download the application for your state from sanofipatientconnection.com, or call 1-888-847-4877 (Monday–Friday, 9am–8pm ET).

Manufacturer self-pay pricing

Insulins Valyou Savings Program (cash price)

Sanofi

Accepting applications Medicare: with conditions

Status: Active on August 26, 2026 at $35 per 30-day supply, with the condition that all your Sanofi insulin prescriptions be filled at the same time each month. The federal TrumpRx site lists Toujeo at the same $35.00, describing it as 92% off a former price of $428.57.

A $35 cash price, matched on the federal TrumpRx site. Genuinely useful if your plan does not cover Toujeo; usually a step backwards if it does, because your plan's own insulin cost-sharing is capped at the same figure and counts toward your cap.

If you have Medicare: The offer is "only valid for those who are uninsured or those who are insured by a prescription plan but are not using such insurance and will be paying the full retail price for the medication", so a Medicare beneficiary can use it by paying cash outside Part D. The cost of doing so is stated in Sanofi's own terms: "You may not submit claims for reimbursement to any third-party payor, including any government healthcare plan (e.g., Medicare, Medicaid, DOD, VA, TRICARE)... You may not seek to have your out-of-pocket costs or the full retail price of the Sanofi Insulin count toward your deductible, true-out-of-pocket (TrOOP), maximum out-of-pocket (MOOP), or any other out-of-pocket caps associated with any insurance coverage." Since a Medicare drug plan already caps a covered insulin at $35 a month AND counts that spending toward your $2,100 annual cap, the cash route usually costs the same per month while buying you less. It makes sense mainly when your plan does not cover Toujeo at all.

What it can cover: Toujeo, and other Sanofi insulins filled at the same time, at $35 per 30-day supply. Not insurance.

Who may qualify

  • Uninsured, OR insured by a prescription plan but not using that insurance and paying the full retail price
  • All Sanofi insulin prescriptions must be filled at the same time, together each month, to get the $35 rate
  • You may not submit the cost to any third-party payor, including Medicare
  • You may not count the spending toward your deductible, TrOOP, MOOP or any other out-of-pocket cap

How to apply

Enrol through the Sanofi savings pages or call (833) 813-0190, Monday–Friday 9am–7pm ET. Compare against what your own plan charges for Toujeo first.

Commercial copay / savings card

Sanofi Insulins Co-pay Savings Program

Sanofi

Accepting applications Medicare: not eligible

Status: Active for commercially insured patients on August 26, 2026: no more than $35 for a 30-day supply, valid up to 10 packs per fill.

A commercial copay card. Listed so the difference between Sanofi's two $35 offers is unmistakable before you telephone either.

If you have Medicare: Sanofi's terms: "This offer is not valid for prescriptions covered by or submitted for reimbursement, in whole or in part, under Medicare, Medicaid, VA, DOD, TRICARE, similar federal or state programs, including any state pharmaceutical programs." Do not confuse this with the Valyou program above — both quote $35, but only Valyou is open to someone with Medicare, and only by paying cash.

What it can cover: Part of the commercial copay for Sanofi insulins. Not applicable to Medicare cost-sharing.

Who may qualify

  • Commercial (private or employer-sponsored) prescription insurance
  • Not enrolled in Medicare, Medicaid or another government prescription program

How to apply

Commercially insured patients enrol through the Sanofi savings pages or call (866) 255-8661. Medicare beneficiaries should use their plan's insulin cost-sharing, the Valyou cash route, or Sanofi Patient Connection.

Charitable grants for Toujeo

TotalAssist lists Toujeo Solostar and Toujeo Max Solostar on its Type 2 diabetes fund and the health-equity version, each paying $1,500 guaranteed up to $2,000, and both were closed on August 26, 2026. HealthWell's Type 2 Diabetes fund was closed too, and Good Days runs no diabetes fund. Every one of these is a type 2 fund, so a reader taking Toujeo for type 1 diabetes has no charitable route at all on these three foundations. Set an alert if type 2 applies to you, but for most Medicare beneficiaries the larger levers are your plan's $35 insulin cost-sharing, Sanofi Patient Connection if your income qualifies, and a comparison against the unbranded insulin glargine U-300 that is now on the market at the same strength.

Charitable grant

TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes funds

Patient Advocate Foundation · Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) · Type 2 diabetes health equity

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: Both funds were closed to new applicants on August 26, 2026, each with a $1,500 guaranteed and $2,000 maximum award.

Both "Toujeo Solostar" and "Toujeo Max Solostar" are named on the Type 2 diabetes approved-medication list, alongside Lantus and the other glargine products — so switching between glargine strengths would not cost you fund eligibility. Both funds were closed when we checked, and both are type 2 funds only.

If you have Medicare: These funds require government-insured coverage — Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE — that covers your qualifying expenses. If you buy Toujeo with cash through the Valyou program you are not using your insurance for it, which may affect what the fund can pay toward.

What it can cover: When open: $1,500 guaranteed award and up to $2,000 maximum for medication copays, coinsurance, deductibles and health-insurance premiums. One grant per condition.

Who may qualify

  • Confirmed type 2 diabetes diagnosis, in treatment, starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months
  • Government-insured coverage (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your qualifying expenses
  • Household income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index
  • Confirmed diagnosis matching the fund, and in treatment (or starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months)
  • Legal U.S. resident receiving treatment in the U.S. or a U.S. territory
  • The health-equity fund additionally requires a home zip code in a designated social-vulnerability county

What the application asks for

  • Contact information and Social Security number (or alien number)
  • Annual household income (for pre-screening; proof of income due within 30 days of approval)
  • Health insurance carrier, plan type, policy ID and group number; Medicare supplement or secondary insurance if you have one
  • Copay or coinsurance amounts
  • Your provider's name and contact information, diagnosis (exact date if within 6 months), prescribed medications and treatment plan

How to apply

Sign up for fund notifications (text, email or automated call) at totalassist.org/notify. When a fund opens: You (the patient) apply online — it takes about 15 minutes and you learn immediately whether you are approved — or call 866-512-3861, Monday–Friday 8:30am–5:30pm ET. Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis and treatment plan directly with your provider and verifies income automatically; you have 30 days after approval to provide proof of income.

Charitable grant

HealthWell Foundation — Type 2 Diabetes fund

HealthWell Foundation · Type 2 Diabetes

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: Closed on August 26, 2026. HealthWell runs no Type 1 Diabetes fund and no insulin-specific fund.

One applicable fund, closed. As with the other insulins on this site, there is no fund on any of the three foundations for someone taking Toujeo for type 1 diabetes.

If you have Medicare: HealthWell accepts Medicare beneficiaries for the diseases it covers. Its Type 2 Diabetes fund was closed when we checked.

What it can cover: When open: copays, coinsurance, deductibles and health-insurance premiums for type 2 diabetes.

Who may qualify

  • A confirmed type 2 diabetes diagnosis, verified by your prescriber
  • Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
  • Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
  • Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
  • Treatment in the United States

What the application asks for

  • Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
  • Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
  • Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
  • Treatment in the United States

How to apply

When a fund is open, apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature. When a fund is closed, sign up for that fund's real-time alerts — HealthWell says replenished funds reopen "as quickly as possible."

Charitable grant

Good Days — no applicable fund

Good Days

No program found Medicare: not stated

Status: Good Days' published disease list on August 26, 2026 contained 57 programs and none of them was diabetes.

An honest negative, checked so you do not spend time on a third foundation that has no fund for you.

If you have Medicare: Good Days accepts Medicare beneficiaries for the diseases it covers, but it covers no diagnosis that applies to Toujeo.

How to apply

Not applicable today. The diseases-covered page shows every fund Good Days runs.

How to apply for Toujeo assistance

The written steps are complete on their own; the video above will walk through the same process when it is published.

  1. Step 1 — Find the applicable assistance program

    For Toujeo on Medicare in August 2026, start with your own plan rather than with the manufacturer:

    • Check what your plan charges for Toujeo specifically — not for "insulin glargine". Concentrated products are sometimes on a different tier from the 100 units/mL versions.
    • A covered insulin under a Medicare drug plan is capped at $35 a month with no deductible, and that spending counts toward your out-of-pocket cap.
    • If your plan does NOT cover Toujeo, the $35 Valyou cash route becomes genuinely useful rather than a lateral move.
    • Limited income → call Sanofi Patient Connection on 1-888-847-4877. Income limit is $63,840 for one person.
    • Ask about the unbranded insulin glargine U-300, which is labelled at the same strength as Toujeo.
    • Type 2 diabetes → set alerts on the TotalAssist and HealthWell diabetes funds (all closed when checked).
  2. Step 2 — Check whether applications are currently open

    The manufacturer routes were open; the charitable funds were closed.

    • Sanofi Patient Connection: open, with state-specific applications on its site.
    • Insulins Valyou Savings Program: open at $35 per 30-day supply.
    • TotalAssist: the Type 2 diabetes fund pages show "Open" or "Closed" and current award amounts.
    • HealthWell: the disease-funds list shows the Type 2 Diabetes fund and its status.
  3. Step 3 — Check eligibility

    Income rules are published; the Medicare rule is not:

    • Sanofi Patient Connection: US residency and income at or below 400% FPL — $63,840 for one person in the 48 states and DC. No published Medicare rule.
    • Insulins Valyou: uninsured, or insured but not using that insurance and paying full retail. All Sanofi insulins filled together each month.
    • Sanofi Co-pay Savings: commercial insurance only, Medicare explicitly excluded.
    • TotalAssist (when open): government insurance covering Toujeo; income at or below 500% FPL adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index; a confirmed type 2 diabetes diagnosis.
    • HealthWell (when open): insurance that covers part of the drug's cost, a prescriber-verified type 2 diabetes diagnosis, and treatment in the United States.
  4. Step 4 — Gather your information

    Get the concentration and the dose right, because they drive every comparison you will make:

    • Your Toujeo product and daily dose in units — Toujeo SoloStar or Toujeo Max SoloStar, at 300 units/mL.
    • What your plan charges you for that exact product, from your Explanation of Benefits or your plan's formulary.
    • A list of your other prescriptions and expected annual costs, to judge whether stepping outside Part D would cost you cap progress.
    • Medicare card and drug-plan card, with policy ID and group number.
    • Household size, annual household income and proof; and your diabetes type, since the funds are type 2 only.
  5. Step 5 — Complete the application

    Who fills out what:

    • Sanofi Patient Connection: download your state's application, or call 1-888-847-4877 to have one sent.
    • Insulins Valyou: enrol through the Sanofi savings pages or call (833) 813-0190. No income test.
    • Extra Help: you (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone on 1-800-772-1213, or at an office. There is never a fee.
    • TotalAssist (when open): you apply online in about 15 minutes or by phone on 866-512-3861.
  6. Step 6 — Submit and wait for a determination

    What to expect:

    • Sanofi Patient Connection: the program reviews income and insurance documentation; ask about the current timeframe when you call.
    • Insulins Valyou: no determination — it is a price, not an application.
    • Extra Help: Social Security notifies you by mail; your Part D plan then applies the lower copays.
    • TotalAssist (when open): an immediate online decision, with proof of income due within 30 days of approval.
  7. Step 7 — If the program is closed or you don't qualify

    Toujeo's concentration is the angle most people miss:

    • Ask your prescriber and plan about the unbranded insulin glargine U-300, which is labelled at the same 300 units/mL strength as Toujeo.
    • If you are comparing Toujeo against Lantus or another 100 units/mL glargine, compare cost per unit rather than cost per pen — Toujeo pens hold three times the concentration.
    • Check your plan's tier for the exact Toujeo product before assuming a switch would save money; a formulary exception may be simpler than a change of insulin.
    • Apply for Extra Help even if you assume you earn too much — it helps most with your non-insulin medications.
    • Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments.
    • Call Vernal Medicare — we will work through every route above with you, free.

What you'll need

Only items the programs above actually ask for. Gather these before you start.

  • Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card — plan name, member ID and group number
  • Prescription details — medication name, strength and dose; prescriber name, office phone and address
  • Diagnosis and date of diagnosis — TotalAssist needs the exact date if diagnosed within the past 6 months
  • Household size and annual household income — and proof — tax return, Social Security or pension statements, or pay stubs
  • Your exact Toujeo product and daily dose in units — Toujeo SoloStar or Toujeo Max SoloStar, at 300 units/mL — the concentration changes every price comparison
  • What your plan charges for that specific product — concentrated insulins are sometimes tiered differently from 100 units/mL glargine
  • Your diabetes type — the TotalAssist and HealthWell funds cover type 2 only

If assistance is unavailable

A closed fund or a denial is not the end of the road. Check these next:

  1. Ask your prescriber and plan about the unbranded insulin glargine U-300 now labelled on DailyMed — it is the same strength as Toujeo, and Sanofi Patient Connection lists it as a covered product in its own right.
  2. Before paying cash, check what your Medicare drug plan charges. A covered insulin is capped at $35 a month under a Medicare drug plan, and that spending counts toward your out-of-pocket cap while cash spending does not. Insulin costs on Medicare
  3. Sign up for TotalAssist fund notifications so you hear the moment a Toujeo fund reopens — there is no waitlist or queue, so speed matters. TotalAssist notifications
  4. Sign up for HealthWell fund alerts for the same reason; HealthWell says closed funds reopen as funding is replenished. HealthWell disease funds
  5. Check Medicare Extra Help — it does not depend on a fund balance and lowers the cost of every covered drug, not just this one. Extra Help in Utah
  6. Ask your doctor's office — many practices have staff who handle assistance applications routinely and can request a formulary exception or a lower-cost alternative.
  7. Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments (it does not lower the total). Medicare.gov
  8. Compare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans during the fall enrollment period — the tier and cost-sharing for Toujeo differ from plan to plan. Part D plans in Vernal

Could Medicare Extra Help reduce your Toujeo costs?

Extra Help is not a grant for Toujeo. It is a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription — so it is worth checking even when a charitable fund is closed, because it does not depend on fund balances.

Extra Help is worth having, but its effect on Toujeo specifically is limited: under a Medicare drug plan a covered insulin is already capped at $35 a month with no deductible, so the subsidy has less room to work here than on your other medications. Apply for it because of everything else you take. Whether Extra Help affects a Sanofi Patient Connection application is one of the questions Sanofi does not answer publicly — add it to the list when you call.

In 2026, people with full Extra Help generally pay no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug. Income must be below about $23,940 a year for one person ($32,460 for a couple) and countable resources under $18,090 ($36,100 for a couple). Apply free through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person — and never pay anyone to apply for you.

Government program

Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy)

Medicare / Social Security Administration

Accepting applications Medicare: may apply

Status: Year-round federal program (figures for 2026)

Not a grant for one drug — a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription.

If you have Medicare: For people with Medicare Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan who have limited income and resources.

What it can cover: Part D premium and deductible (often to $0) and reduced copays — generally no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug in 2026 with full Extra Help.

Who may qualify

  • Income below 150% of the federal poverty level — about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a married couple in 2026.
  • Countable resources (savings, investments — not your home or car) limited to $18,090 for an individual or $36,100 for a married couple living together in 2026 (Medicare.gov figures, which include a burial-expense allowance).
  • Automatic if you have Medicaid, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or a Medicare Savings Program.

What the application asks for

  • Social Security number and Medicare number
  • Income (Social Security, pensions, wages) for you and a spouse you live with
  • Value of savings, investments and other countable resources

How to apply

You (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone, or at a Social Security office. There is never a fee to apply.

Key terms on this page

Patient assistance program (PAP)
A manufacturer program that provides its medication free or at low cost to people who meet income and insurance rules. Many PAPs accept Medicare Part D enrollees; each sets its own criteria.
Copay card / savings card
A manufacturer discount for commercially insured patients. Federal anti-kickback rules mean these cards generally cannot be used with Medicare, Medicaid or other government insurance.
Charitable copay grant
Money from a nonprofit foundation (for example HealthWell or Patient Advocate Foundation) that pays eligible copays or coinsurance for a specific diagnosis. A drug can be listed while the fund is closed to new applicants.
Federal poverty level (FPL)
A federal income measure that assistance programs use as a yardstick — "300% of FPL", "500% of FPL". The percentage is a rule, but the dollar figure behind it comes from a table each program publishes itself, built on a chosen year of the HHS poverty guidelines. Two programs can quote the same percentage in the same year and still list different dollar limits; compare each program against its own table, not against another program.
Medicare Extra Help
The Part D Low-Income Subsidy: a Medicare program that lowers or eliminates Part D premiums, deductibles and copays for beneficiaries with limited income and resources. You apply through Social Security.
Maximum Fair Price (MFP)
The price Medicare negotiated for a selected drug under the Medicare Drug Price Negotiation Program. It applies to Part D plans, not to the pharmacy cash price, and it lowers what plans and enrollees pay for that drug.

Related medication assistance guides

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Medicare cover Toujeo?
Yes — Medicare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans cover Toujeo, and under federal law a covered insulin costs no more than $35 for a month's supply with no deductible applied. Check your plan's tier for the exact Toujeo product rather than for insulin glargine generally, because concentrated insulins are sometimes placed differently. Our insulin cost guide covers how the cap works across products.
What is the difference between Toujeo and Lantus?
They are the same medicine at different concentrations. Both are insulin glargine, but Lantus is 100 units per millilitre and Toujeo is 300 units per millilitre. The practical consequence is that a Toujeo pen delivers three times as many units for the same volume of liquid, so comparing the price of one pen against the other is misleading — compare cost per unit instead. For assistance purposes they are treated identically: the same Sanofi programs, the same income limits, and both appear on the same charitable fund lists.
TrumpRx shows Toujeo at $35, down from $428.57. Is that a good deal on Medicare?
It is a real price, but on Medicare it is often a lateral move rather than a saving. A covered insulin under a Medicare drug plan is already capped at $35 a month with no deductible applied — the same figure — and that spending counts toward your $2,100 annual out-of-pocket cap. Sanofi's cash terms say you "may not seek to have your out-of-pocket costs... count toward your deductible, true-out-of-pocket (TrOOP), maximum out-of-pocket (MOOP), or any other out-of-pocket caps." So the cash route matters mainly if your plan does not cover Toujeo at all.
Is there a Toujeo patient assistance program for people on Medicare?
Sanofi Patient Connection covers Toujeo and has a clear income test — household income at or below 400% of the federal poverty level, which is $63,840 for one person in the 48 states and DC in 2026. But it publishes no Medicare rule: none of its eligibility criteria mentions Medicare at all. Call 1-888-847-4877 and ask whether Medicare Part D enrollees may apply, and whether being prescribed Toujeo when your plan prefers a different glargine counts as lacking "access to the prescribed product".
Is there a generic version of Toujeo?
There is an unbranded equivalent at the same strength. DailyMed labels an "Insulin Glargine U-300" alongside Toujeo and Toujeo Max, and Sanofi Patient Connection lists that unbranded U-300 as a covered product in its own right. There are also several 100 units/mL glargine products — Basaglar, Semglee, Rezvoglar and Langlara — but those are a different concentration, so switching to one is a dosing conversation with your prescriber rather than a straight substitution.
Is Toujeo part of Medicare drug price negotiation?
No. CMS's selected-drug and Maximum Fair Price file has no Toujeo, Lantus or insulin glargine row for initial price applicability year 2026, 2027 or 2028. The only insulin CMS has selected is Novo Nordisk's insulin aspart, sold as NovoLog and Fiasp — a different product from a different manufacturer, and its negotiated price has nothing to do with Toujeo. See all prescription assistance options.

Sources

Having trouble figuring out your prescription costs?

If you live in Vernal or the Uintah Basin, Vernal Medicare can help you understand your Medicare prescription coverage and where to look for Toujeo assistance — free, no pressure. We don't award grants or decide eligibility; the programs above do. We help you find and apply to the right ones.

Call 435-219-5120 Schedule a Free Review

Call Text Us