📧 [email protected] 📞 435-219-5120 (TTY: 711) Search 🌐 EnglishEspañol

Weight Management / GLP-1 · Heart & Blood Pressure

Wegovy Assistance Programs & Grants in Utah

Assistance information last verified: August 2026

Usually yes — but which door depends on the diagnosis. For weight management, Part D enrollees who meet the Bridge criteria get the Wegovy pen or pill for $50 a month through the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge, with no application. For heart-disease risk reduction or MASH, Wegovy is a regular Part D drug and Extra Help applies. The manufacturer patient assistance program does not cover Wegovy and the savings offer excludes Medicare; Novo's self-pay prices ($149–$399 a month) are open to Medicare enrollees who pay outside their plan. The obesity charity fund was closed; the MASH funds at TotalAssist and HealthWell were open. Financial assistance may be available through charitable foundations, manufacturer programs, Medicare's Extra Help program, or other assistance resources. Availability and eligibility change frequently — the information on this page was verified in August 2026.

How to Get Wegovy Assistance on Medicare A short walkthrough of the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge for the Wegovy pen and pill, when Wegovy is a regular Part D drug instead, the self-pay prices, and which charity funds were open.

Can I get help paying for Wegovy?

Usually yes — but which door depends on the diagnosis. For weight management, Part D enrollees who meet the Bridge criteria get the Wegovy pen or pill for $50 a month through the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge, with no application. For heart-disease risk reduction or MASH, Wegovy is a regular Part D drug and Extra Help applies. The manufacturer patient assistance program does not cover Wegovy and the savings offer excludes Medicare; Novo's self-pay prices ($149–$399 a month) are open to Medicare enrollees who pay outside their plan. The obesity charity fund was closed; the MASH funds at TotalAssist and HealthWell were open.

  • Medicare GLP-1 Bridge: all strengths of the Wegovy pen and pill for $50 a month, July 1, 2026 – December 31, 2027, for Part D enrollees with BMI 35+, or BMI 30+ / 27+ with listed conditions, prescribed for weight management; no enrollment, the pharmacy starts the approval, and the $50 cannot be lowered by Extra Help or counted toward your cap.
  • Regular Part D: Wegovy for cardiovascular risk reduction (established heart disease plus obesity or overweight) or MASH is a Part D benefit — Novo says it "is covered through normal Medicare Part D benefits" for those uses; a negotiated price applies from January 1, 2027.
  • Manufacturer patient assistance: Wegovy is not on Novo Nordisk's 2026 PAP product list. Wegovy Savings Offer: "Government beneficiaries excluded."
  • Self-pay: pen $199 a month for the first two fills (new patients, 0.25 / 0.5 mg, through December 31, 2026) then $349, Wegovy HD 7.2 mg $399; pill $149 (1.5 mg, and 4 mg through August 31, 2026, then $199) and $299 (9 mg, 25 mg). Novo: "Government-insured patients may use this program if they self pay and process outside of their insurance."
  • Charitable grants: TotalAssist's Obesity fund lists Wegovy but was closed; the MASH funds at TotalAssist ($2,100 guaranteed) and HealthWell (up to $8,000) were open and list Wegovy; HealthWell has no obesity fund; Good Days has nothing.

5 of the 7 programs we checked for Wegovy were accepting applications when verified in August 2026.

About Wegovy (semaglutide)

Wegovy is the weight-management and cardiovascular brand of semaglutide — the same molecule as Ozempic — sold as a weekly injection and, since 2025, as a daily tablet. How Medicare treats it depends entirely on why it was prescribed: weight management goes through the $50-a-month Medicare GLP-1 Bridge, while heart-disease risk reduction and MASH go through regular Part D.

Approved uses

  • Reducing the risk of major adverse cardiovascular events (cardiovascular death, non-fatal heart attack or non-fatal stroke) in adults with established cardiovascular disease and either obesity or overweight — injection and tablets
  • Reducing excess body weight and maintaining weight reduction long term in adults with obesity, or adults with overweight and at least one weight-related condition, with a reduced-calorie diet and increased physical activity — injection and tablets (the injection also in children 12 and older with obesity)
  • Treating noncirrhotic metabolic dysfunction-associated steatohepatitis (MASH) with moderate to advanced liver fibrosis in adults — injection only, under accelerated approval

Manufacturer: Novo Nordisk

Why Wegovy can be expensive on Medicare

Novo Nordisk publishes a list price of $1,349.02 per package for Wegovy. When it is prescribed for weight management alone, Part D does not cover it, so without the Bridge or a cash price you face the full amount and nothing you pay counts toward the $2,100 Part D cap. When it is covered — for cardiovascular risk reduction or MASH — plans place it on a high tier with prior authorization. Novo's patient assistance program does not list Wegovy and the savings offer excludes government beneficiaries.

Medicare coverage context

CMS's own Bridge prior-authorization form draws the line: if Wegovy is prescribed to reduce cardiovascular risk in an adult with established heart disease, or for MASH, the request "must" go to the Part D plan — those are Part D-eligible uses, covered under your plan's rules and counting toward your deductible and cap. If it is prescribed to reduce weight with no Part D-eligible diagnosis, the route is the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge: all strengths of the Wegovy pen and pill for $50 a month, July 1, 2026 through December 31, 2027, outside Part D. Semaglutide ("Ozempic; Rybelsus; Wegovy") has a negotiated Medicare price effective January 1, 2027 — $274 for a blended 30-day supply, and $385.63 per package of four 2.4 mg Wegovy pens in CMS's example — which applies only when Part D covers the drug. Novo has separately said it will cut Wegovy's list price to $675 on the same date. CMS says its BALANCE Model is not launching in Medicare in 2027.

Wegovy assistance options at a glance

Every program we checked, what kind of help it is, whether people with Medicare can use it, and its status when we verified it. A medication being listed by a program is not the same as the program accepting applications.

About the income limits below: Income limits can differ between assistance programs even when both describe their eligibility as the same percentage of the federal poverty level. The dollar limits shown here come from each program's own published income table, and each program decides which year's poverty guidelines that table is built from and when it takes effect. Treat the figures as belonging to the program they are listed under — they are not interchangeable, and only the program can tell you which table it is applying to your application today.

Wegovy assistance programs compared
ProgramType of helpPeople with MedicareStatus (August 2026)
Medicare GLP-1 Bridge ($50 a month, CMS demonstration) Government program may apply Accepting applications
Novo Nordisk Patient Assistance Program Manufacturer patient assistance not stated No program found
Wegovy Savings Offer Commercial copay / savings card not eligible Accepting applications
NovoCare Pharmacy self-pay (also listed on TrumpRx) Manufacturer self-pay pricing with conditions Accepting applications
TotalAssist — Obesity fund (and MASH fund) Charitable grant may apply Open with limits
HealthWell Foundation — MASH fund (no obesity fund) Charitable grant may apply Open with limits
Good Days Charitable grant not stated No program found
Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy) Government program may apply Accepting applications

Manufacturer programs from Novo Nordisk

A patient assistance program (free or low-cost drug by income) is not the same as a copay card (a commercial discount that usually excludes Medicare). Both are listed so you can see which one applies to you.

Manufacturer patient assistance

Novo Nordisk Patient Assistance Program

Novo Nordisk (NovoCare)

No program found Medicare: not stated

Status: Wegovy is not on the 2026 product list (checked August 26, 2026), which names the Ozempic injection (uninsured patients only), insulins, Xultophy and devices — no obesity product of any kind. The PAP page never names Wegovy as a covered product.

Novo Nordisk's PAP ships eligible medicines free to approved patients. Wegovy is not one of them, and has not been.

If you have Medicare: Not applicable — the program does not cover Wegovy, so its Medicare rules and income thresholds do not reach it.

Who may qualify

  • Not applicable to Wegovy — the program's listed products only

How to apply

Not applicable to Wegovy. Questions about the program: 1-866-310-7549.

Commercial copay / savings card

Wegovy Savings Offer

Novo Nordisk

Accepting applications Medicare: not eligible

Status: Active for commercially insured patients on August 26, 2026; no expiry is published for the $25 tier — Novo "reserves the right to modify or cancel this program at any time."

A commercial copay offer: pay as little as $25 for up to a three-month prescription when commercial insurance covers GLP-1 medicines, with a $100-a-month maximum savings. Not for Medicare.

If you have Medicare: Novo's terms: "Government beneficiaries excluded." The screener treats anyone with both commercial and government coverage as government-insured. Novo adds that government-insured patients "are able to pay the self-pay price for their prescription" instead — see the self-pay program below.

Who may qualify

  • Commercial insurance that covers GLP-1 medicines
  • Not enrolled in any government, state or federally funded medical or prescription benefit program

How to apply

Commercially insured patients enrol on novocare.com or by texting SAVE to 83757. Not applicable to Medicare beneficiaries. Questions: 1-888-793-1218.

Manufacturer self-pay pricing

NovoCare Pharmacy self-pay (also listed on TrumpRx)

Novo Nordisk

Accepting applications Medicare: with conditions

Status: Self-pay prices on August 26, 2026 — pen: $199 a month for the first two fills of 0.25 mg or 0.5 mg for new patients (offer through December 31, 2026), then $349 for 0.25–2.4 mg and $399 for Wegovy HD 7.2 mg; pill: $149 for 1.5 mg and for 4 mg (4 mg offer through August 31, 2026, then $199), $299 for 9 mg and 25 mg. The federal TrumpRx site lists the same prices and terms.

Novo's direct-to-patient channel — home delivery through NovoCare Pharmacy, or local pharmacy pickup with the savings offer. For a Medicare enrollee who does not qualify for the Bridge (for example, prescribed for weight management but already getting a GLP-1 through Part D, or with a plan type the Bridge does not cover) this is the price to compare. Cash purchases never count toward the $2,100 Part D cap, and Medicare.gov notes TrumpRx is not creditable coverage.

If you have Medicare: Novo: "Government-insured patients may use this program if they self pay and process outside of their insurance." Pharmacies are told to advise "each eligible Medicare Part D or other applicable government insured patient using the self-pay offer that they must not submit the purchase for inclusion in any insurance benefit out-of-pocket spending calculations, such as Medicare Part D True Out-of-Pocket Costs (TrOOP)." The purchase "will not count toward any deductibles, and cannot be applied to any insurance maximum out-of-pocket limits."

What it can cover: A cash price of $149–$399 a month depending on product and strength, against a list price of $1,349.02 per package.

Who may qualify

  • A valid Wegovy prescription
  • Paying outside your insurance, with no reimbursement claim and nothing counted toward a deductible or TrOOP

How to apply

Your prescriber e-prescribes to NovoCare Pharmacy (no card activation needed); you get a text to set up your account, pay and choose delivery or pickup. Or present the savings offer as a self-pay patient at a local pharmacy. NovoCare Pharmacy: 1-833-949-5527.

Charitable grants for Wegovy

For weight management, no charitable fund covering Wegovy was open on August 26, 2026: TotalAssist's Obesity fund lists Wegovy but was closed, HealthWell has no obesity fund, and Good Days has nothing. For a MASH diagnosis the picture is better — TotalAssist's MASH fund ($2,100 guaranteed, up to $4,200, government insurance) and HealthWell's MASH fund (up to $8,000) were both open and both list Wegovy. Sign up for Obesity-fund alerts, and remember that for weight management the Bridge, not a charity, is the route that does not depend on a fund balance.

Charitable grant

TotalAssist — Obesity fund (and MASH fund)

Patient Advocate Foundation · Obesity · MASH

Open with limits Medicare: may apply

Status: The Obesity fund — the one that matches a weight-management prescription — was closed to new applicants on August 26, 2026 (when open: $1,000 guaranteed, $2,000 maximum, any insurance, income at or below 300% FPL). The MASH fund was OPEN and lists Wegovy: $2,100 guaranteed, $4,200 maximum, government insurance, income at or below 500% FPL — for a MASH diagnosis, which is an injection-only use. Wegovy is also listed under the closed Stroke, Lipodystrophy and Type 2 diabetes funds.

Patient Advocate Foundation's TotalAssist (launched July 1, 2026, combining PAF Co-Pay Relief and the PAN Foundation) lists Wegovy under six funds. For weight management the relevant one is Obesity, and it is closed — sign up to be notified when it reopens; there is no waitlist. For MASH, the open fund can be applied to now.

If you have Medicare: The MASH, Stroke and diabetes funds require government-insured coverage (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE); the Obesity fund accepts any insurance. Every fund requires insurance "that covers your qualifying expenses." Whether a $50 Bridge copay — paid outside Part D — or a self-pay purchase counts is not addressed anywhere on TotalAssist's site; ask before counting on it.

What it can cover: Obesity fund (when open): $1,000 guaranteed, $2,000 maximum. MASH fund (open): $2,100 guaranteed, $4,200 maximum. One grant per condition.

Who may qualify

  • A confirmed diagnosis matching the fund (obesity, or MASH), in treatment or starting within 60 days
  • Obesity fund: any health insurance covering the expense; income at or below 300% of the federal poverty level, cost-of-living adjusted
  • MASH fund: government-insured coverage; income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level, cost-of-living adjusted
  • Legal U.S. resident receiving treatment in the U.S. or a U.S. territory

What the application asks for

  • Contact information and Social Security number (or alien number)
  • Annual household income (for pre-screening; proof of income due within 30 days of approval)
  • Health insurance carrier, plan type, policy ID and group number; Medicare supplement or secondary insurance if you have one
  • Copay or coinsurance amounts
  • Your provider's name and contact information, diagnosis (exact date if within 6 months), prescribed medications and treatment plan

How to apply

Obesity: sign up for fund notifications at totalassist.org/notify. MASH (open): You (the patient) apply online — it takes about 15 minutes and you learn immediately whether you are approved — or call 866-512-3861, Monday–Friday 8:30am–5:30pm ET. Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis and treatment plan directly with your provider and verifies income automatically; you have 30 days after approval to provide proof of income.

Charitable grant

HealthWell Foundation — MASH fund (no obesity fund)

HealthWell Foundation · Metabolic Dysfunction-Associated Steatohepatitis

Open with limits Medicare: may apply

Status: HealthWell runs no obesity or weight-management fund (checked August 26, 2026). Wegovy is on three fund lists: the MASH fund, which was OPEN (maximum award $8,000, income up to 500% FPL); the Type 2 Diabetes fund (closed); and the Chronic Heart Failure – Medicare Access fund (closed). Its Hypercholesterolemia and Cardiomyopathy Medicare Access funds do not list Wegovy.

For a MASH diagnosis, HealthWell's open fund covers prescription copays, physician visits and testing, and transportation, with an average grant HealthWell estimates at about $2,500. For weight management there is no HealthWell route at all.

If you have Medicare: HealthWell requires "some form of health insurance (private insurance, Medicare, Medicaid, TriCare, etc.) that covers part of the cost of your treatment." Premium assistance through the MASH fund requires Medicare Part B.

What it can cover: MASH fund: up to $8,000 as a pharmacy card, or Medicare Part B premium assistance; household income up to 500% of the federal poverty level.

Who may qualify

  • A MASH diagnosis, verified by your provider — Wegovy prescribed to treat it
  • Insurance (including Medicare) that covers part of the cost of Wegovy
  • Household income up to 500% of the federal poverty level (adjusted for household size and cost of living)

What the application asks for

  • Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
  • Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
  • Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
  • Treatment in the United States

How to apply

When a fund is open, apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature. When a fund is closed, sign up for that fund's real-time alerts — HealthWell says replenished funds reopen "as quickly as possible."

Charitable grant

Good Days

Good Days

No program found Medicare: not stated

Status: Good Days lists no obesity, weight-management, MASH or cardiovascular program among its 49 funds (checked August 26, 2026).

An honest negative: we looked, and there is no Good Days program covering any of Wegovy's diagnoses.

If you have Medicare: Not applicable — no matching program.

How to apply

Not applicable.

Other government routes

Medicare and state programs that lower prescription costs for people with limited income and resources.

Government program

Medicare GLP-1 Bridge ($50 a month, CMS demonstration)

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Accepting applications Medicare: may apply

Status: Live since July 1, 2026 and extended through December 31, 2027 (checked August 26, 2026). Medicare.gov lists "Wegovy (injection or tablet)"; Novo confirms "all dose strengths of both Wegovy pen and pill for just $50 per month."

A CMS demonstration that stands in for Part D coverage of weight-management GLP-1s until the end of 2027. Your cost is a flat $50 for a one-month supply; the Part D deductible does not apply, and the payment does not count toward your deductible, out-of-pocket limit or Medicare Prescription Payment Plan. Once approved, the authorization lasts through December 31, 2027 including refills and dose changes, as long as you stay on Wegovy.

If you have Medicare: For Medicare Part D enrollees (stand-alone plans, Medicare Advantage drug plans, Special Needs Plans, employer group plans and LI NET) prescribed Wegovy for weight management. Medicare.gov: "You aren't eligible if you: Already get GLP-1 drugs covered through your Medicare Part D plan. Have type 2 diabetes, moderate-to-severe sleep apnea, or fatty liver disease (but your Part D plan might cover your GLP-1s)." CMS's form adds that a prescription to reduce cardiovascular risk in established heart disease "must" go to the Part D plan instead. CMS: "no part of the $50 copay counts towards the beneficiary's TrOOP costs, and there is no low-income subsidy (LIS) provided for LIS beneficiaries."

What it can cover: The Wegovy pen (every strength, including Wegovy HD) and Wegovy tablets (every strength) at $50 per one-month supply.

Who may qualify

  • Enrolled in an eligible Medicare Part D plan and 18 or older
  • At the start of GLP-1 therapy: BMI 35 or higher; or BMI 30 or higher with diastolic heart failure, uncontrolled high blood pressure, or chronic kidney disease stage 3a or higher; or BMI 27 or higher with prediabetes, a previous heart attack or stroke, or symptomatic peripheral artery disease
  • Prescribed for weight reduction with no Part D-eligible diagnosis — not for type 2 diabetes, sleep apnea, MASH, or cardiovascular risk reduction in established heart disease, which go to your Part D plan
  • Your prescriber certifies the medicine is part of a lifestyle program focused on diet and exercise

What the application asks for

  • A Wegovy prescription sent to a pharmacy; the pharmacy may ask for your Medicare number or the last four digits of your Social Security number
  • A prior-authorization form your prescriber submits after the pharmacy's claim to the Bridge is first rejected — Novo: "Patients do not need to enroll in the program to participate"

How to apply

There is no patient application. Your prescriber sends the prescription; the pharmacy submits it to the Bridge, then your prescriber completes the prior authorization (online or by fax); Medicare mails you a letter and you pay $50 at pickup. Questions: 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227), or NovoCare's Obesity & Bridge Support team at 1-888-809-3942, Monday–Friday 8am–8pm ET.

How to apply for Wegovy assistance

The written steps are complete on their own; the video above will walk through the same process when it is published.

  1. Step 1 — Find the applicable assistance program

    Start from the reason Wegovy was prescribed — CMS treats the routes as mutually exclusive:

    • Prescribed for weight management, on a Part D plan, BMI 35+ (or 30+ / 27+ with listed conditions) at the start of therapy, no type 2 diabetes, sleep apnea or MASH → Medicare GLP-1 Bridge, $50 a month, pen or pill.
    • Prescribed to reduce cardiovascular risk (established heart disease plus obesity or overweight), or for MASH → your Part D plan; check the formulary and prior-authorization rules; apply for Extra Help if income is limited; from January 1, 2027 a negotiated price applies.
    • Not eligible for the Bridge and not covered by your plan → NovoCare Pharmacy self-pay ($149–$399 a month), outside your insurance.
    • MASH diagnosis → TotalAssist and HealthWell MASH funds, both open when checked. Obesity diagnosis → TotalAssist Obesity fund alerts; it was closed.
  2. Step 2 — Check whether applications are currently open

    The Bridge is open through December 31, 2027 and needs no fund balance. The charity picture changes without notice:

    • TotalAssist: totalassist.org/funds shows "Open" or "Closed" for the Obesity and MASH funds.
    • HealthWell: the Disease Funds page shows the MASH fund status; there is no obesity fund to open.
    • Novo Nordisk PAP: check the current product list — Wegovy has never been on it; if that changes, this page will change.
  3. Step 3 — Check eligibility

    For the routes that were open:

    • Bridge: 18 or older; eligible Part D plan type; BMI 35+, or BMI 30+ with diastolic heart failure, uncontrolled hypertension or CKD stage 3a+, or BMI 27+ with prediabetes, prior heart attack or stroke, or symptomatic peripheral artery disease — measured when GLP-1 therapy started; no Part D-eligible diagnosis; not already getting a GLP-1 through Part D.
    • Extra Help (Part D-covered uses): income below about $23,940 a year (one person) or $32,460 (couple) and countable resources limited to $18,090 or $36,100 in 2026.
    • Self-pay: a valid prescription and agreement to process outside your insurance with nothing counted toward TrOOP.
    • TotalAssist MASH fund (open): government insurance covering the expense; income at or below 500% FPL, cost-of-living adjusted; MASH diagnosis in treatment. Obesity fund (when open): any insurance; income at or below 300% FPL.
    • HealthWell MASH fund (open): insurance covering part of the cost; income up to 500% FPL; provider-verified MASH diagnosis.
  4. Step 4 — Gather your information

    Have these ready — the Bridge moves through the pharmacy quickly once eligibility is confirmed, and TotalAssist applications are decided instantly when a fund is open.

    • Medicare card and your Part D / Medicare Advantage drug-plan card; the pharmacy may ask for your Medicare number or the last four digits of your Social Security number.
    • Your BMI and the date GLP-1 therapy began, plus documentation of any qualifying condition, for the Bridge prior authorization.
    • Your Wegovy prescription (pen or pill, strength) and your prescriber's name, phone and address.
    • Diagnosis (obesity, cardiovascular disease or MASH) and the date of diagnosis if within the past 6 months.
    • Household size and annual household income, with proof, for TotalAssist, HealthWell or Extra Help.
    • Social Security number (TotalAssist and HealthWell ask for it).
  5. Step 5 — Complete the application

    Who fills out what:

    • Bridge: there is no patient application. Your prescriber sends the prescription; the pharmacy submits the claim; your prescriber completes the prior authorization; Medicare sends you a letter.
    • Part D coverage for cardiovascular risk or MASH: your prescriber submits the plan's prior authorization with the diagnosis.
    • NovoCare Pharmacy: your prescriber e-prescribes; you set up your account and pay online.
    • TotalAssist (when open): you apply online in about 15 minutes; Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis with your provider and verifies income automatically.
    • HealthWell: you apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature.
    • Extra Help: you (or someone helping you) apply through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person. It is free.
  6. Step 6 — Submit and wait for a determination

    What to expect:

    • Bridge: once approved, pay $50 at pickup; refills and dose changes need no new approval through December 31, 2027 as long as you stay on Wegovy.
    • TotalAssist: an instant decision when you submit; proof of income due within 30 days.
    • HealthWell: a decision after your provider verifies the diagnosis; assistance is issued as a pharmacy card.
    • Extra Help: Social Security notifies you by mail; if approved, your Part D plan applies the lower copays to covered drugs.
  7. Step 7 — If the program is closed or you don't qualify

    Do not stop at "closed" or "not eligible":

    • Sign up for TotalAssist fund alerts — there is no waitlist, so being notified first matters.
    • If you have established heart disease, ask your prescriber whether Wegovy's cardiovascular indication applies to you — that turns it into a Part D-covered drug with Extra Help and the 2027 negotiated price behind it.
    • Compare the self-pay price against what you would otherwise pay; remember cash purchases do not count toward the $2,100 cap.
    • Ask your prescriber about Zepbound, the other injectable in the Bridge, if Wegovy is not working for you.
    • Compare Part D plans in the fall — plan rules on GLP-1s for covered uses differ.
    • Call Vernal Medicare — we'll check every route above with you, free.

What you'll need

Only items the programs above actually ask for. Gather these before you start.

  • Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card — plan name, member ID and group number
  • Prescription details — medication name, strength and dose; prescriber name, office phone and address
  • Diagnosis and date of diagnosis — TotalAssist needs the exact date if diagnosed within the past 6 months
  • Household size and annual household income — and proof — tax return, Social Security or pension statements, or pay stubs
  • BMI at the start of GLP-1 therapy and documentation of any qualifying condition — Medicare GLP-1 Bridge prior authorization (your prescriber submits it)
  • Copay or coinsurance amount for Wegovy — TotalAssist asks for it
  • Social Security number — TotalAssist and HealthWell
  • Bank, retirement and pension statements — Extra Help application (resources)

If assistance is unavailable

A closed fund or a denial is not the end of the road. Check these next:

  1. Zepbound is the other injectable in the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge and has its own self-pay prices — compare the two with your prescriber. Zepbound assistance
  2. If you also have type 2 diabetes, the same molecule is covered by Part D as Ozempic — see what assistance exists for it. Ozempic assistance
  3. Sign up for TotalAssist fund notifications so you hear the moment a Wegovy fund reopens — there is no waitlist or queue, so speed matters. TotalAssist notifications
  4. Sign up for HealthWell fund alerts for the same reason; HealthWell says closed funds reopen as funding is replenished. HealthWell disease funds
  5. Check Medicare Extra Help — it does not depend on a fund balance and lowers the cost of every covered drug, not just this one. Extra Help in Utah
  6. Ask your doctor's office — many practices have staff who handle assistance applications routinely and can request a formulary exception or a lower-cost alternative.
  7. Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments (it does not lower the total). Medicare.gov
  8. Compare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans during the fall enrollment period — the tier and cost-sharing for Wegovy differ from plan to plan. Part D plans in Vernal

Could Medicare Extra Help reduce your Wegovy costs?

Extra Help is not a grant for Wegovy. It is a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription — so it is worth checking even when a charitable fund is closed, because it does not depend on fund balances.

Extra Help does not touch the Bridge — Medicare.gov says the $50 copay "can't be lowered by programs like Extra Help." It does apply when Wegovy is a Part D benefit for cardiovascular risk reduction or MASH: if you qualify, a covered brand copay drops to about $12.65 a month, and every other covered drug gets cheaper too.

In 2026, people with full Extra Help generally pay no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug. Income must be below about $23,940 a year for one person ($32,460 for a couple) and countable resources under $18,090 ($36,100 for a couple). Apply free through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person — and never pay anyone to apply for you.

Government program

Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy)

Medicare / Social Security Administration

Accepting applications Medicare: may apply

Status: Year-round federal program (figures for 2026)

Not a grant for one drug — a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription.

If you have Medicare: For people with Medicare Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan who have limited income and resources.

What it can cover: Part D premium and deductible (often to $0) and reduced copays — generally no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug in 2026 with full Extra Help.

Who may qualify

  • Income below 150% of the federal poverty level — about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a married couple in 2026.
  • Countable resources (savings, investments — not your home or car) limited to $18,090 for an individual or $36,100 for a married couple living together in 2026 (Medicare.gov figures, which include a burial-expense allowance).
  • Automatic if you have Medicaid, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or a Medicare Savings Program.

What the application asks for

  • Social Security number and Medicare number
  • Income (Social Security, pensions, wages) for you and a spouse you live with
  • Value of savings, investments and other countable resources

How to apply

You (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone, or at a Social Security office. There is never a fee to apply.

Key terms on this page

Patient assistance program (PAP)
A manufacturer program that provides its medication free or at low cost to people who meet income and insurance rules. Many PAPs accept Medicare Part D enrollees; each sets its own criteria.
Copay card / savings card
A manufacturer discount for commercially insured patients. Federal anti-kickback rules mean these cards generally cannot be used with Medicare, Medicaid or other government insurance.
Charitable copay grant
Money from a nonprofit foundation (for example HealthWell or Patient Advocate Foundation) that pays eligible copays or coinsurance for a specific diagnosis. A drug can be listed while the fund is closed to new applicants.
Federal poverty level (FPL)
A federal income measure that assistance programs use as a yardstick — "300% of FPL", "500% of FPL". The percentage is a rule, but the dollar figure behind it comes from a table each program publishes itself, built on a chosen year of the HHS poverty guidelines. Two programs can quote the same percentage in the same year and still list different dollar limits; compare each program against its own table, not against another program.
Medicare Extra Help
The Part D Low-Income Subsidy: a Medicare program that lowers or eliminates Part D premiums, deductibles and copays for beneficiaries with limited income and resources. You apply through Social Security.
Maximum Fair Price (MFP)
The price Medicare negotiated for a selected drug under the Medicare Drug Price Negotiation Program. It applies to Part D plans, not to the pharmacy cash price, and it lowers what plans and enrollees pay for that drug.

Related medication assistance guides

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Medicare cover Wegovy?
It depends on why it is prescribed. For weight management, Part D does not cover it — instead the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge supplies the Wegovy pen or pill for $50 a month from July 1, 2026 to December 31, 2027 for Part D enrollees who meet its criteria. For reducing cardiovascular risk in adults with established heart disease and obesity or overweight, and for MASH, Novo says Wegovy "is covered through normal Medicare Part D benefits," so your plan's tier, prior authorization and the $2,100 cap apply. Read more in Does Medicare cover Ozempic or Wegovy?
How do I get Wegovy for $50 a month on Medicare?
Through the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge. You need an eligible Part D plan and to have met the BMI criteria when you started GLP-1 therapy — BMI 35 or higher; BMI 30 or higher with diastolic heart failure, uncontrolled high blood pressure or chronic kidney disease stage 3a+; or BMI 27 or higher with prediabetes, a prior heart attack or stroke, or symptomatic peripheral artery disease — and to be taking it for weight management rather than a Part D-eligible diagnosis. There is no form for you: the pharmacy submits the claim, your prescriber completes the prior authorization, and Medicare mails you a letter. Both the pen and the pill qualify at every strength. Questions: 1-800-MEDICARE.
Does Extra Help lower the $50 Bridge copay?
No. Medicare.gov says the Bridge copayment "Can't be lowered by programs like Extra Help," and CMS says there is no low-income subsidy on it. It also does not count toward your Part D deductible or the $2,100 cap and cannot be spread out with the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan. Extra Help does apply when Wegovy is covered by your plan for cardiovascular risk reduction or MASH.
Is there a Wegovy patient assistance program?
Not from the manufacturer. Wegovy is not on Novo Nordisk's 2026 Patient Assistance Program product list (checked August 26, 2026) and never has been. The charity fund that matches a weight-management prescription — TotalAssist's Obesity fund — was closed to new applicants.
Can I use the Wegovy savings offer with Medicare?
No — Novo's terms say "Government beneficiaries excluded," and anyone with both commercial and government coverage counts as government-insured. What Novo does allow is the self-pay price: "Government-insured patients may use this program if they self pay and process outside of their insurance," with nothing counted toward Part D TrOOP.
What does Wegovy cost self-pay on Medicare?
On August 26, 2026: the pen was $199 a month for the first two fills of 0.25 mg or 0.5 mg for new patients (through December 31, 2026), then $349 a month for 0.25–2.4 mg and $399 for Wegovy HD 7.2 mg; the pill was $149 a month for 1.5 mg and for 4 mg (through August 31, 2026, then $199) and $299 for 9 mg and 25 mg — through NovoCare Pharmacy or a local pharmacy, and listed identically on TrumpRx. A Medicare enrollee may buy at these prices outside their plan; the cost never counts toward the $2,100 cap.
What will Wegovy cost under the Medicare negotiated price in 2027?
CMS negotiated one price for the "Ozempic; Rybelsus; Wegovy" entry: $274 for a blended 30-day supply from January 1, 2027, against a $959 list price in 2024. CMS's Wegovy-specific example is $385.63 per package of four 2.4 mg pens. That price applies only where Part D covers the drug — cardiovascular risk reduction or MASH — and what you pay is your plan's cost-sharing on it, up to the cap. For weight management the Bridge's $50 is what you pay. Novo has separately said it will lower Wegovy's list price to $675 on the same date.
Is there a charitable grant for Wegovy right now?
For weight management, not when we checked on August 26, 2026 — TotalAssist's Obesity fund was closed, HealthWell has no obesity fund and Good Days has nothing. For a MASH diagnosis, yes: TotalAssist's MASH fund ($2,100 guaranteed, up to $4,200, government insurance, income at or below 500% FPL) and HealthWell's MASH fund (up to $8,000) were both open and both list Wegovy. Sign up for notifications at totalassist.org/notify for the Obesity fund. See all prescription assistance options.

Sources

Having trouble figuring out your prescription costs?

If you live in Vernal or the Uintah Basin, Vernal Medicare can help you understand your Medicare prescription coverage and where to look for Wegovy assistance — free, no pressure. We don't award grants or decide eligibility; the programs above do. We help you find and apply to the right ones.

Call 435-219-5120 Schedule a Free Review

Call Text Us